Dahua high power consumption?

KeithH

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello

I'm new to this forum - hope someone can help.

I have a Dahua 8 way 3tb NVR and 6 x 5mp Dahua cameras. 3 of these cameras are wired directly to the NVR and 3 come through switch boxes as they are on an outbuilding.

The system has been installed a couple of years and my primary need has been to be able to view my property when I am away. Other than one glitch with ip addresses, it has worked well and does what I need it to do.

I shut the system down when I am at home as I did notice when it was installed the measured power consumption was around 200 watts which is a significant power requirement. I am now wondering if this is:

a) correct

b) if it is then can I reduce this in any way

My need is still for live viewing rather than recording.

Any help and advice welcomed.

Thanks

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
I’m no electrical engineer so I could be way off, but the avg NVR is using 10-20 watts per specs and the cameras say 6-10 watts each. So 200 watts sounds excessive…

CCTVCam

Known around here
Reaction score
POE Switches will use power as well.

A power measuring plug such as this:

...might be a good way to get an accurate measurment although it depends if parts of your system have been hard wired which might make measurement by plug impossible. eg on mine, both my BI PC (obviously) and switch supplying the cameras with power are on plugs so it's relatively easy to unplug them, inset the measuring plug, get a reading after they've settled and then repeat for other components to build up the picture of the true consumption. (note you my have to re-initialise some parts of the system settings after a power cut).