HikVision can't connect to my nas

flraer

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello,

I have read everything I have found and followed numerous guides but i can't get it to work.

I use a DS-2CD2142FWD-IWS with firmware version V5.5.0 build 170725. The nas I'm trying to use is a raspberry pi 3 with open media vault.

I have tried both SMB/CIFS and NFS. With SMB/CIFS i can connect to and read/write files with the computer. But when I try to add the nas to the camera I always get the same error.

In the images attached I'm trying with NFS.

The error i get from the camera when trying to "test" the nas is: "Installation of catalogue for nas server failed, catalogue not valid."

I get the same message with both SMB/CIFS and NFS. I have limited knowledge but does the message mean that the camera can't write in the folder? Have I put in the wrong file path?

See picture 1 for camera error message and what I put in there.
See picture 2 for OMV shared folder withe the folder I want the camera to use.
See picture 3 for OMV NFS sharing settings.

The ip for the raspberry pi is 192.168.1.206 and the camera has 192.168.1.64.

What am I missing, I'm going crazy.. Does anyone have an idea?

Edit: I'm currently using a 16 gb usb memory.

Attachments

Last edited:

Art K

n3wb
Reaction score
If the camera's IP is 192.168.1.64, the client IP in the NFS config should 192.168.1.64/32 (or just leave off the /32 altogether) - /24 should work, but who knows if that confuses the NFS server. /24 means 192.168.1.xx can connect. When you specify /24, it should be 192.168.1.0/24 - that extra 64 might be a silent syntax error.

But yeah, that error message sounds like it can't write to the folder. Is there an option for "root" somewhere in the NFS settings? You might need that on - in "normal" NFS settings on other servers like Linux, it would look like this:

-root=192.168.1.64,rw=192.168.1.64

I have no idea how to do that with your NFS server ;)

flraer

n3wb
Reaction score