home with existing cams

brian1023

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi, i recently bought a house that had several dom IP cams around the exterior. All cat6 run to same place in basement. I am new to IP cam world....what is the cheapest way for me to test each cam to confirm they actually work before i begin investing in switches, nvrs, etc. ? from what i can see from the ground, they are all hikvision branded.

willing to spend some money, but honestly if they don't work from the start, ill just go with an amazon cloud cam, etc.

appreciate the assistance in advance.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hi, i recently bought a house that had several dom IP cams around the exterior. All cat6 run to same place in basement. I am new to IP cam world....what is the cheapest way for me to test each cam to confirm they actually work before i begin investing in switches, nvrs, etc. ? from what i can see from the ground, they are all hikvision branded.

willing to spend some money, but honestly if they don't work from the start, ill just go with an amazon cloud cam, etc.

Welcome @brian1023

Don't go cloud cameras if you have a good cabling already done. Seriously, once you've got good cable runs to appropriate locations the hardest part of the job is already done.

You can then replace the old cameras and any NVR if you like.

So what to do?
1) Remove one camera and look for the model number. Check the model number and see how old the camera is. If it is too old - plan to buy new cameras.
2) Get a cat5e/6 cable tester and see if the cable appears good. Check the markings on the cable.

If the cable is good - take some time to review the cameras that SouthernYankee posts in his new member list and see if any of those would be nice to have.

Read the cliff notes.

brian1023

n3wb
Reaction score