In over my head. Anyone have skills with Adtran Advanta 7100's?

Reaction score
My day job is running networking cable for business's. Today, a customer was going to toss out a fully functioning Adtran Netvanta 7100, which is a 10/100 24port POE voip router/phone system/voicemail/switch all in one. Would love to convert this to simply a basic POE switch on it's own subnet (not routing, no firewall, no vlans) similar to my current unmanaged 12 port POE switch. Primary duty will be to supply POE to cam's and switch abilities.
However, Adtran hardware are Enterprise level. Not as simple programming as compared to Netgear routers :) Anyone have experience with programming these beasts?

catcamstar

Known around here
Reaction score

area651

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
My day job is running networking cable for business's. Today, a customer was going to toss out a fully functioning Adtran Netvanta 7100, which is a 10/100 24port POE voip router/phone system/voicemail/switch all in one. Would love to convert this to simply a basic POE switch on it's own subnet (not routing, no firewall, no vlans) similar to my current unmanaged 12 port POE switch. Primary duty will be to supply POE to cam's and switch abilities.
However, Adtran hardware are Enterprise level. Not as simple programming as compared to Netgear routers :) Anyone have experience with programming these beasts?
I really admire anyone who is willing to admit they're in over their head on something. Just an idea would be to resell the Netvanta and then buy a new(er) model switch even if it has less POE ports.

Either way, congrats on your find! I'm currently debating on my next switch actually. I don't like the idea of going only 10/100 as I'm sure when I do, technology will change, or my setup will change and then I'll surely need gigabit. lol...

Reaction score