Ip camera going offline

carolp

n3wb
Reaction score
I’m hoping someone out there can point me in the right direction with the problem I am having with my ip cameras. I am not very tech savvy you should know so small words please.
I have several ptz wireless ip cameras I use to keep an eye on my home especially when I am away. I view all these cameras with Blue Iris software. From time to time one of my cameras will just lose signal and if I am home at the time I can just unplug that camera and replug it and it comes back on. Obviously I cannot do that if I am away.

Can someone please tell me why this happens., and what I can do to stop it. It’s not just one camera or one brand of camera, just random.

Thank you

Noctilum

n3wb
Reaction score
This has been happening to myself over the last week or so. I am not sure the cause yet as I have been running Blue Iris pretty flawlessly over the last year. Link light is definitely on for the camera so there is some communication going on. I run Blue Iris 4 with Dahua cameras myself.

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score

What version of BI are you using ?

If your cameras are wireless they are not security cameras. It is simple to shut down any wifi system.

Your wifi cameras should be on a seperate channel, sidd and access point then your home system.
Your video should not go through your home router to BI.
Does your network have interference. Your neighbor watch a 4K movie and your cameras drop off line.

Does the Blue Iris log give any indication of the problem.

Tinbum

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I have a similar problem, all direct wired. I have 4 panasonic cameras that have been loosing signal every now and then. Putting them as static IP's within the camera itself rather then the router cured it for a while but then it came back again. Thankfully they only loose signal for long enough for it to register in BI.