New RCA HSDB2A 3MP Doorbell IP Camera

David L

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
305
Reaction score
107
Location
USA
Yep, that LaView instruction is the same instructions as Ezviz, Imou, Dmss, etc. I knew in H1 of this year where someone who had a LaView Halo ONE variant got Alexa skills to work. However, the ONVIF FW wasn't released back then so my RCA unit was still on the older RCA FW until a couple months ago. Since I haven't seen any RCA HSDB2A owner mention Alexa, thought I'd ping this thread for any recent success stories in advance of my Echo Show devices arriving from Amazon. I only have Google minis so no Google hub to test with. I'll continue to use my wall mounted tablets to view the security cameras until I can figure out how to get Alexa working with RCA HSDB2A.
When I did an Alexa search 2 pages came up. Just be sure to search this thread


1575162273919.png
1575162498803.png
 

tommyd75

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
35
Reaction score
3
Has anyone noticed how hot this thing gets. I just installed mine today and was bench testing it and the back near the top is very hot. I’m running it off the AC bell transformer I had and I’m using it with my analog mechanical chime unit.
I think I had seen someone here had mentioned they were running it at 12vdc? Unless that was another thread.
Maybe this would help with the heat. I was going to try but didn’t want to damage the unit. I have some relays that I can use to run it from 12v and then use the relay to trigger the chime.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

David L

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
305
Reaction score
107
Location
USA
I already searched before I originally inquired. All the Alexa responses were not the RCA HSDB2A hardware units making me think it might be blocked by serial numbers perhaps...
Maybe I am wrong, but I would think it should work for all the Hikvision Doorbells if they are linked to Alexa skill. You may reach out to pete_c, he is very knowledgeable in these things. Monocle looks promising...
 
Last edited:

David L

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
305
Reaction score
107
Location
USA
Has anyone noticed how hot this thing gets. I just installed mine today and was bench testing it and the back near the top is very hot. I’m running it off the AC bell transformer I had and I’m using it with my analog mechanical chime unit.
I think I had seen someone here had mentioned they were running it at 12vdc? Unless that was another thread.
Maybe this would help with the heat. I was going to try but didn’t want to damage the unit. I have some relays that I can use to run it from 12v and then use the relay to trigger the chime.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hot to Very Hot is common with these Doorbells. I have recorded 140f temps during the summer. Lowering voltage has been mentioned here, helps. Let us know your results. Thanks.
 

Pilot04

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 1, 2017
Messages
193
Reaction score
41
Maybe I am wrong, but I would think it should work for all the Hikvision Doorbells if they are linked to Alexa skill. You may reach out to pete_c, he is very knowledgeable in these things.
RCA support said it was not possible as their FW doesn't support it when I contacted early part of this year but I didn't expect them to admit to anything since they never marketed Alexa capability unlike Ezviz and LaView. Even with latest LaView's FW on it, it still fails Alexa device discover process with the Alexa skills enabled. I know my usauth.hik-connect.com account is fine as I have other non-Ezviz security cameras with Alexa feature successfully discovered by Ezviz Alexa skills. I'll sit back and wait till someone else tries it on their RCA unit in case I need to RMA mine for a replacement unit.
 

David L

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
305
Reaction score
107
Location
USA
RCA support said it was not possible as their FW doesn't support it when I contacted early part of this year but I didn't expect them to admit to anything since they never marketed Alexa capability unlike Ezviz and LaView. Even with latest LaView's FW on it, it still fails Alexa device discover process with the Alexa skills enabled. I know my usauth.hik-connect.com account is fine as I have other non-Ezviz security cameras with Alexa feature successfully discovered by Ezviz Alexa skills. I'll sit back and wait till someone else tries it on their RCA unit in case I need to RMA mine for a replacement unit.
Sorry, I alot of times over try to help even when I am over my head. This forum has been good to me, I got alot of help here, just trying to pay it forward...

Monocle looks promising...
 

Pilot04

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 1, 2017
Messages
193
Reaction score
41
Sorry, I alot of times over try to help even when I am over my head. This forum has been good to me, I got alot of help here, just trying to pay it forward...

Monocle looks promising...
No worries. Every idea is always appreciated in a forum. That is how I got started with the RCA version 1 doorbell a few years ago before upgrading to the HSDB2A in January after positive feedback from other early adopters. Happy Holidays.
 

tommyd75

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
35
Reaction score
3
Is anyone having the same issue as me with the app. When the doorbell button is pressed the app will only ring on the phone if my phone is unlocked.
When the phone is locked the app only vibrates and shows a notification but doesn’t make any noise. I also tried the LaView and Hik-Connect apps and they do the same exact thing. I’m using a iPhone 11pro on iOS 13.2.3 (latest iOS)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

David L

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
305
Reaction score
107
Location
USA
Is anyone having the same issue as me with the app. When the doorbell button is pressed the app will only ring on the phone if my phone is unlocked.
When the phone is locked the app only vibrates and shows a notification but doesn’t make any noise. I also tried the LaView and Hik-Connect apps and they do the same exact thing. I’m using a iPhone 11pro on iOS 13.2.3 (latest iOS)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I have read several messages here like yours stating the same thing. I have Android and have gotten calls when my phone is locked but only problem is they are not always consistent, which leads us here to believe it is a cloud issue, since there has not been any App software or firmware change and several people here have experienced the same issue from time to time.
 

David L

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
305
Reaction score
107
Location
USA
No worries. Every idea is always appreciated in a forum. That is how I got started with the RCA version 1 doorbell a few years ago before upgrading to the HSDB2A in January after positive feedback from other early adopters. Happy Holidays.
Did you try Monocle?
 

David L

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
305
Reaction score
107
Location
USA
So I have had a lot of people (delivery people) try to push the PIR sensor in the middle to ring the bell. Unfortunately it’s now cracked and I am afraid it’s going to allow moisture inside of the unit. has anyone had this issue and dealt with any sort of DIY fix? Curious what I might be able to do to fix it. No opposed to replacing the dome with something new and more rigid if it won’t affect the operation.
Did you fix your PIR lens? If so, what did you do? Thanks...
 

VorlonFrog

Known around here
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
1,133
Reaction score
669
Location
Charlotte
I can't even enable motion events. :( Don't understand, unless the camera firmware simply doesn't provide them.

EZViz DB1 Firmware Levels.png
 
Last edited:

Pilot04

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 1, 2017
Messages
193
Reaction score
41
I looked into Monocle when it first announced it's BETA but decided not to go that route as there will be a cost once it comes out of BETA. Also, I prefer it to work out of the box like a LaView ONE HALO or an EzViz DB1 which is very similar to RCA HSDB2A per the FCC specs. That is why I'm thinking it might be locked down to S/N on Hik's cloud side since RCA never marketed theirs as Alexa capable nor ONVIF.
 

David L

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
305
Reaction score
107
Location
USA
I do from the BI motion algorithm. Nothing from the camera pir from what I can tell(they don't match with the app pir notifications.)
So this is actually a question. I am fairly new to BI and use BI to record 24/7 so motion is only reported to me by Phone App.
Have you played with this menu where pick When triggered?

1575236576121.png
 

David L

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
305
Reaction score
107
Location
USA
I looked into Monocle when it first announced it's BETA but decided not to go that route as there will be a cost once it comes out of BETA. Also, I prefer it to work out of the box like a LaView ONE HALO or an EzViz DB1 which is very similar to RCA HSDB2A per the FCC specs. That is why I'm thinking it might be locked down to S/N on Hik's cloud side since RCA never marketed theirs as Alexa capable nor ONVIF.
I am with you. Does Alexa use IFTTT like Google in linking? I know it is not Native and will have a slight delay but may be a temp. fix.
 

Pilot04

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 1, 2017
Messages
193
Reaction score
41
I am with you. Does Alexa use IFTTT like Google in linking? I know it is not Native and will have a slight delay but may be a temp. fix.
IFTTT works with Ezviz and Alexa for motion detection alerting via email/sms or to turn on/off camera so I've had that working for the HSDB2A since January.
 
Top