Project Requirements - Harvesting High Quality Still Images from Recorded Video

tumtumsback

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
If I am not posting this in the right place, please direct me elsewhere. I will try to keep this short and sweet.

Client wants to record wedding ceremonies, and the biggest requirement is that the solution allows for High Quality frame-by-frame recap. The idea is that an export of the ceremony can be provided to the newlyweds (USB stick, OneDrive, whatever...), and the newlyweds can later go through the footage on their own, to extract and save high quality still photos/frames. It's being explained to me that the end goal would result in the creation of physical prints (8x10, 11x17, etc.) of said photos/frames.

I am no expert, but the first things that come to mind for me are shutter speed, fps, resolution, amount of ambient light, etc. I imagine the distance between the cameras and the object of focus also matters a lot; based on the dimensions of the room, these cameras are to be mounted anywhere from 2-10 feet from the people who are getting married.

My initial plan, unless swayed otherwise, to be to use an NVR with PoE cameras. I just don't know which aspect(s) matter most -- shutter speed? FPS? Res?

Attached are images of the wedding area. I used green arrows to indicate the height at which I had planned on installing the cameras (~7 ft. from floor). It will be four cameras total, one on each corner (sorry for some reason I only took three photos of the area although there are 4 "poles" total). I believe there is usually much more light in that area, but at that time, there was a party going on (blurred in the background) and the lights were cut to this area.

Any help here would be GREATLY appreciated.

Attachments

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
While these cameras are good, they are not professional quality camera good. And for relatively still shots at that distance an iPhone will produce better quality.