Redundancy for Surveillance Systems

Reaction score
Hey guys I am a small time business owner wanting to get into installing surveillance systems. I have planned and figured almost everything out, including insurance, installation, setup and the like for this business. However, a major obstacle for me will be how I offer my clients backup for their security footage. For instance, the systems that I install are simple solutions that are pretty awesome, except the fact that there is a single point of failure. That is the actual DVR box. Specifically, if a burglar steals the box or a act of nature damages the box the client has nothing to provide to authorities or insurance agencies. I obviously need to be able to offer my clients some method either through me or a third party, that will allow them to backup at least a couple days worth of footage.

Fortunately I am somewhat educated in computers and how they operate. Therefore, I was thinking about setting up some kind of NAS/FTP server that will allow me to offer my customers some kind of backup. I noticed that most modern camera systems have a dedicated menu for FTP protocols. However, I have never actually had to setup my own NAS/FTP server so this would be totally new to me. I am concerned about other issues that may arise as well, such as security concerns and bandwidth concerns. My surveillance systems are set to record continuously and overwrite the data on the HDD as needed. I am going to keep that the same, but was thinking maybe I could add in a control to take several still images when the motion sensors are activated and upload those to my server or even a third party. I realize I am going to get a ton of false positives but the still images should be manageable.