Secure web access to DS-7616NI-I2 possible ?

Cyc622

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to Hikvision NVR / platform.
I purchased a DS-7616NI-I2 (Firmware V4.22.000 build 190821) and already configured my ONVIF cameras and they work fine.

Now I am trying to configure DDNS web access to it using SSL.
I already have the redirection in the router to the NVR ip.

However when I try to access it from the outside at I am always getting the invalid certificate warning from the browser as the NVR certificate is a self signed certificate and not for my-domain.ddns.net

I also tried using the hik-connect platform but there I can only mobile and ivms access, I didn't find a way to have a secure web (browser) access that way either.

So, what is the recommended way to have a secure web access with no certificate warnings ?

Thanks,
Claudio.

StewartM

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Not sure this will work in your case but a possible lead. Firefox allows you to add Server Exceptions. In settings under Privacy & Security>Certificates>View Certificates on the Servers tab try add a exception.
1575827186420.png
This works for my VPN setup. Several remote devices that use self-signed certs not longer have invalid cert. warnings using this method.

Cyc622

n3wb
Reaction score
Yes, I know about adding an exception in Firefox, thing is:

1. Most people use Chrome
2. I don't like having to add exceptions to each customer and forcing them to use Firefox.

I really can't believe there is no trusted web secure access out of the box a Hikvision NVR.
Indeed it seems almost funny being the world leading provider of security products, not having such option.

Thanks
Claudio.

StewartM

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score