100% Cpu - any solution / driver for 4th gen Haswell ?

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by Mike Li, Jan 15, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. Mike Li

    Mike Li n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    HP G1 600 SFF / i5-4570 / 8GB
    12x Hikvision cameras 3mp / 4mp / 5mp

    BL version 4.8.4.6
    Intel driver - i tried basically every version available, from 2015 to 2018.

    BL runs fine at 50% - 60% cpu usage with admin console open, but it will slowly creep to 100% after 10 hours or so.

    when it's stuck at 100% CPU, Windows still works and I can see the GPU utilization is down to almost 0. usually GPU is around 30-35% usage.

    I don't recall having this problem earlier, but after updating to 4.8.4.6 recently I started to have this problem.

    is this really a driver problem? or something else?

    Thanks
     
  2. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,065
    Likes Received:
    4,902
    As you installed different Intel drivers, did you make sure Windows wasn't sneakily replacing your driver every time with the same bad version?

    I don't run BI on any 4th gen CPUs anymore but I haven't noticed problems with those I run on 2nd, 3rd, or 8th gen yet, several of which are on BI 4.8.4.6.

    Steady numbers across the board for me.
    [​IMG]
     
    Mike likes this.
  3. aristobrat

    aristobrat IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,827
    Likes Received:
    1,453
  4. aristobrat

    aristobrat IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,827
    Likes Received:
    1,453
    Is the Driver Version listed in the GPU details on the BI Updated Helper database the actual driver version that folks are messing around with? If so, would querying the database for that specific processor and using the results to see the graphics drivers being used be helpful for troubleshooting?
     
  5. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,065
    Likes Received:
    4,902
    Yeah, that driver version should be accurate, although the db has no idea whether a system suffers from a memory leak or rising-cpu problem.
     
  6. Mike Li

    Mike Li n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I made sure windows didn’t replace the drivers. Windows update disabled and I verified the driver version in device manager matches the one i installed.

    Everyday I wake up and found BL at 100%. The system still runs but it’s just really slow until I restart BL

    Is there a proven hardware / driver ? If I can’t find a solution I’ll just replace this PC with a newer one
     
  7. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,065
    Likes Received:
    4,902
    I don't know what to say. I've only experienced the rising CPU problem once and it was very easy to solve by replacing the driver with a different one.

    Are you sure the CPU usage rises gradually? Can you see if GPU usage also changes over a span of hours? Specifically the Video Decode usage as seen in task manager > Performance > GPU.

    upload_2019-1-15_14-22-3.png

    Before buying new hardware I would consider getting the MS media creation tool and creating new win10 installation media and reinstalling the OS and BI and reconfiguring from scratch (you can keep a settings backup from BI but just in case your BI config has developed problems I would not want to restore from it necessarily). It is a lot of work, but so is buying or building a new system on newer hardware and transferring to that.
     
  8. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,065
    Likes Received:
    4,902
    I'd suggest turning off hardware acceleration but that would probably max out your CPU usage. In fact if your hardware acceleration is failing camera-by-camera, and if BI is reverting temporarily to software decoding, that could explain a gradual rise in CPU usage and drop in video decode GPU usage without it having to be a resource leak of any kind.
     
  9. Mike Li

    Mike Li n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is what mine looks like when it's running normally.

    When it creeps to 100% CPU, Video Decode will go down to less than 5% or 0%, but overall the system is still responsive and I can manually restart BL to have HW accel again.

    Lately I added a few cameras, but they are all set to the same settings and FPS, all Hikvision.


    Btw, why is my GPU memory utilization so low compared to yours?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    A screen shots of the GPU, cpu, memory system info when the system is max out.
     
  11. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,065
    Likes Received:
    4,902
    My system is an i7-8700K which is pushing more video than yours.
     
  12. DognamedTank

    DognamedTank Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    32
    I am running an i7-4790, which has the Intel Graphics 4600. I am using driver version 20.19.15.4531 and I have BI 4.8.4.6. I haven't noticed any CPU changes since updating BI. I have about 1050 MP/s in cams running, but have to use some limit decode on some to keep the CPU around 30-40%. It may be a worth a try to downgrade to a different BI version to see if your system runs stable, and then try the upgrade again if you need it.
     
  13. Q™

    Q™ IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4,281
    Likes Received:
    2,810
    Location:
    Megatroplis, USA
    Hi @MikeLi. FWIW: I believe I had elevated CPU issues after installing 4.8.4.6, although no where near as bad as your. You may want to try downgrading to 4.8.4.3.
     
  14. Mike Li

    Mike Li n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had been waiting for it to go up to 100% but for some reason it had been stable for over 24 hours....
    i did remove motion detection on a few cameras. the heavy rain in Socal lately had been making BL go nuts.

    when it goes unstable again I'll post the system info and cpu / gpu graph.
     
  15. Zorac

    Zorac Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    20
    im similar. intel driver version 20.19.15.4835 on an i7-4770k but only about 240 MP/s. no issue with any of the 4.8.4.x versions of BI (currently on 4.8.4.7). I have intel video accel defaulted on for everything in BI and using an nvidia card for my display. i've never played with the quick sync drivers, i just let windows do its thing.
     
  16. Mike Li

    Mike Li n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    It has been stable for 3 days, still on driver version 4835. the only thing i did was to disable motion detection on one of the cameras, which had some connection problem that goes on and off. maybe it's making the intel driver go crazy.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Whoaru99

    Whoaru99 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2018
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Here
    Is that because there is a known issue with 4th gen and BI, or simply that you don't have any 4th gen systems?
     
  18. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,065
    Likes Received:
    4,902
    I have only one 4th gen system and it is a NUC-style with insufficient cooling for heavy use. I did run BI on it in the past without any trouble though.
     
  19. Mike Li

    Mike Li n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok i just got home and BL is at 100%. i took a few screenshots of everything

    restarted BL in task manager and it's back to normal.

    I noticed "signal restored" message on all cameras at the same time, not sure why but it seems strange
     

    Attached Files:

  20. DognamedTank

    DognamedTank Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    32
    Do any of your new cameras use H265 or the smart encoding (H264+/H265+)? The hardware decoding on your CPU won't work with H265, and if there is a lot of recording going on using H265 with your higher MP cams, it can max out the CPU pretty quick. I had to make sure all of my cameras used H264 because H265 would do weird things for recording and CPU/hardware decode.