A little help please

Reaction score
So I posted this on a members thread another post on the forum but thought I might get a quicker response here.

"So I'm new to all this, and im definitely not an IT guy, but are you guys saying I have to purchase static ip's to be able to run my security cams?

I was thinking my setup would go like this:

Asus rt88ac to a netgear16 port poe+ switch, a synology ds918+ nas running their surveillance station software to act as the DVR plugged into the switch along with my 3 IPC-HDW5231R-ZE cams and a IPC-HDBW4231F-AS cam.

I have an OpenVPN vpn client. Not sure if I should run that thru the nas or the router as both can be set up to run openvpn and I'm hardworking all my other connections.

I was planning on setting up a ddns so that way I could remotely login and view my surveillance feed in the nas.

The more I get into this the more i get confused."

Does anyone have any suggestions for my setup? Now take into account that I've already purchased all the equipment above so I need to make it all run cohesively.

Any help would be appreciated

Last edited:

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
You do not need to purchase a static IP address from your ISP.

As part of the setup of the openVPN on the asus router, There should have been a place to set up an DDNS. The dynamic domain name system. What this does is keep tract of the ISP ip address for your modem/router.

There are other DDNS providers, I recommend use the ASUS one as it is part of the router setup.

C20.JPG

C21.JPG

Last edited:
Reaction score