A little late to the party...

JoelJ

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey all. I should have done this a few weeks ago before I really got into the forums and started asking questions.

My name is Joel. Professionally I'm a civil engineer, but in my spare time I guess I would call myself a jack-of-all-trades, and master of none. My dad always said, "Never pay someone to do something that you could do yourself." I love to tackle my own DIY projects; research, planning, and getting my hands dirty. I've done plenty of my own residential electrical work, but hardly anything with networking.

We just broke ground on a new house, and even after we move in we'll have construction all around us for at least a few years while the neighborhood fills up. Lots of construction workers coming and going while we're away at work. I figure the best way to keep an eye on our new investment is some cameras I can access remotely, and the best time to get the wiring for those cameras installed is during the framing stage and before drywall goes in. I'm going to be running CAT6 throughout the house for the cameras, TVs, internet access, etc.

After a lot of reading and at least a little over-thinking, I just purchased my PC (HP ProDesk 600 G2 SFF i5 6th Gen 3.20Ghz 8Gb Ram-DDR4, 128-SSD + 2 TB HDD Win 10) to run Blue Iris.

Most likely going to be picking up a few of the Dahua Starlight Varifocals (HDW-5231R-Z) cameras to start. Driveway, backyard, and front stoop above the door. Eventually I'd like to expand to catch a few extra angles and maybe inside the garage. We'll see how these work out.