Access Hikvision NVR PoE Cameras via WiFi

abhinandan

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello,

I would like to ask if it is possible to access the individual camera IPs (192.168.254.XXX) for RTSP streaming via a Wifi Connection to the same router as the one the NVR is connected to. As of now, the NVR was on a different subnet because of the LAN connection, but I managed to tweak this and can now access the NVR web browser management page via WiFi. I can even access the individual cameras via unique ports (192.168.50.18:6500X) and can view their feed on the web browser. However, for RTSP streaming, I need to access the internal IPs of the cameras since the RTSP port is fixed at 554. Basically, I want to access this camera feed via OpenCV for some AI applications.

If anyone has done this before or knows how to go about it, please help out since I am new to networking and I don't quite understand why I am unable to access the individual camera IPs despite being connected to the same router as the NVR and even being able to access the NVR itself.

Thanks in advance!

-Abhi

Last edited:

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
I would like to ask if it is possible to access the individual camera IPs (192.168.254.XXX) for RTSP streaming via a Wifi Connection to the same router as the one the NVR is connected to.
Leaving aside for the moment the fact that running RTSP camera streams over WiFi is going to be a troublesome and unreliable arrangement (loads of posts about problems doing that) ...
Yes, Hikvision NVR PoE-connected cameras can be directly accessed from NVR LAN IP addresses, by making a couple of network changes.
Example how to :

abhinandan

n3wb
Reaction score
Leaving aside for the moment the fact that running RTSP camera streams over WiFi is going to be a troublesome and unreliable arrangement (loads of posts about problems doing that) ...