Access logging for people and vehicles...

sharza

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi

Being unable to determine the best forum, I take my chances and post here. Should it fit better somewhere else, feel free to move the post.

Aight - Im quite new to all this, and even after extended knowledge gathering, I find myself in a situation of confusion... or rather... lack of knowledge to make the right decision. I got the various terms in place, and have tested a number of vms softwares, including BlueIris - which was easy (somehow) to setup, and kinda works nicely enough for normal motion detected video captures.

The project I'm set out on (ambitious maybe... but still its the path I've begun travelling nonetheless ;-) ) involves having my cameras setup for motion detected video captures, with access logging of persons and vehicles based on facial recognition and license plate retrieval.

I'm not entirely sure BI is the right choice here, and hope to benefit a bit from some of the experience present here in the forums, to avoid endless trials of various non-fitting software/setups.

I could do scripted events in BI, which did the facial recognition/license plate retrieval through some of the various online deep learning cloud solutions - for a cost. I'd rather not go that route, as the development would be on me, and I'd kinda like to avoid that - it might be the end of it, and not too scary per se.

So my question would be something along the lines of:

Does anyone know of a suitable solution, which has full face recognition/license plate retrieval - either built in, or via a plugin/add-on module, which suits the needs of access logging and identification of these, especially unknown ones - preferably with a good management interface, and plugin/add-on support as well. Is there any of these?

It looks like XProtect might fit the bill, but it looks like the add-ons needed exceeds whats possible with the Essential version, which pushes the price point pretty much through the roof.