Accessing BI with OpenVPN

PSPCommOp

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Has anyone had issues lately? I'm not sure if its just on my end but I have OpenVPN running on my router and my iPhone.

I open the VPN app on my phone, once it connects I open up BI. Sometimes it connects, other times I get a server error. The error's only occur when I'm outside the LAN.

I don't think its the VPN connection because I can remote into the PC directly via the desktop app with the VPN connected, but I'm still new to this so maybe that isn't proof there isn't a VPN issue.

I've checked the LAN/WAN settings in the BI app and everything looks to be correct. I'm also using a DDNS thru Asus.

Lastly, I last logged in this morning (WAN) and it worked fine. Tried again about an hour later and no beans.

Thoughts?

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
were you on a hotspot or mobile service? its possible a stupid admin blocked VPN access.. though thats considered bad practice, as it denies any good security.

PSPCommOp

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I tried mobile yes. that didn't work. Connected to the wifi at work and that isn't working now. It did work on the wifi at my job earlier this morning but when I tried again a few hours later, nothing.

I'm back at work again now and its still not working. Is just strange because I can remote into the PC after the VPN connects, just not access the BI program.

Any suggestions?

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
are you sure your DDNS is accurate? make sure everything has clocks set correctly, if your router thinks its 1979 it could be an issue.

PSPCommOp

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
yeah DDNS is good, i have an asus router and used the app and it showed everything is correct. Times should be correct, I've updated them all to run off of the same NIST NTP server

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
shrug, mebe restart your BI server? it sounds like the VPN is connected if you can remote into the PC..

PSPCommOp