Active Cameras out-of-the box

Discussion in 'Hikvision' started by VWG, Jun 14, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. VWG

    VWG n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Česko
    Hello community,

    I hope this topic is not solved elsewhere here, as I searched many hours on google and here...

    The issue: new Hikvision WiFi cameras (DS-2CD2021G1-IDW1 and DS-2CD2041G1-IDW1) are not behaving as should - the activation dialogue never came up and all cameras are "Active". Tried various way and with different camareas - have four of them, tried all with SADP, web UI, hikvision NVR, iVMS-4200.
    I have also tried all default passwords I have found including the hacked ones with some waits and reboots not to lock the camera 6 login counter... Nothing.

    Tried also the reset button = hold when powered off, then power on, tried 10 sec, 20 sec, 30 sec, 60+ sec... nothing happends at all...

    Firmware as seen by SADP: 5.5.80 build 180911 hikvision.jpg
    Any help/tip is highly appreciated... maybe I am doing something wrong with the reset sequence? Tried on all cameras, no luck...

    I have the QR codes so I can try the hikvision support but I thought that HW reset would help...

    They are official EU distribution.

    Thanks

    Vit
     
  2. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    11,215
    Likes Received:
    3,571
    Location:
    Scotland
    Normally it would. It's a puzzle why not.
    What does the reseller say about how they have checked out the cameras by 'Activating' them but not letting you know what password they used?
     
  3. VWG

    VWG n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Česko
    Well, I have to check the reseller but it was Friday late afternoon here when I got this situation.
     
  4. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,945
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    Start by connecting one and only one camera to the network. Do you have an IP Conflect?
     
  5. VWG

    VWG n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Česko
    No. I had inly one at a time...
     
  6. normel

    normel Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    12
    TRy admin+VERIFICATION code// lets say if verification code is ABCDEF, as passw try: adminABCDEF
     
  7. VWG

    VWG n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Česko
    Thats IT!!!

    Many thanks!!!

    (and why the hell is this nowhere written or am I missing something???)
     
    mat200 likes this.
  8. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    11,215
    Likes Received:
    3,571
    Location:
    Scotland
    What hat did you pull that particular rabbit from? I've missed that one.
    Is this some new hard-coded thing, or a new Active/Inactive variant?
     
  9. mat200

    mat200 IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    2,566
    Hi @VMG

    Just confirming that what normel posted works.

    Thanks!
     
  10. Parminderjit Singh

    Parminderjit Singh n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Hi , I dont understand.. I got the same camera and it was already Active out of the box and now I am not sure what is the password is. It worked for you, so may I know how did you solve it? Please
     
  11. VWG

    VWG n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Česko
    Username: admin
    Password is combination of admin and verification code which you find on small sticker on camera or camera box.

    So as written if verifition code is DFGHY
    the password is adminDFGHY
     
  12. Parminderjit Singh

    Parminderjit Singh n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Thank you, it worked perfectly. Was wondering if you have tried hooking up the camera with a non-hikvision NVR? I have another non-branded NVR with ONVIF support. The camera shows up in the NVR but it says 'Authentication Failed'.