Advise needed for viewing Hikvision NVR

Discussion in 'NVR's, DVR's & Computers' started by foggysail, Jun 3, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. foggysail

    foggysail n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ashland, MA
    I was able to view live cameras via my Hikvision 7608NI using ivms-4500 on my Ipad until poop happened. Now I only get ‘’connection failed!’’ I can only view my cameras now via HDMI cable connected between my desk top and the NVR. Yeah......beginning to believe that you got what you pay for and ivms-4500 is free.

    So my next thought is/was to try Blue Iris. Checked Apple’s store and sure enough, there was Blue Iris for less than $10. Now the gotcha is that it requires Blue Iris loaded onto my desktop. Fine, I don’t mind paying for the software but that is not the issue. My NVR connects directly to my Verizon Fios router via an ethernet cable so it can communicate directly to the great beyond without my desktop. So why does Blue Iris need to see a desktop for it to function on an Ipad? The ONLY place away from home that I am trying to view my NVR’s attached cameras in on my Ipad.

    And yes I am using port forwarding. And I notice now when I log directly into my Verizon router, that Verizon has changed how one views anything on the router. Why is it that so many software developers believe ‘new is better?’ If things work........not broken...... DON’T FIX THEM! OK, enough venting.

    Well, that’s my problem, no remote video and looking for a solution. Thanks for taking the effort to read this far.
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,233
    Likes Received:
    9,351
    Its not a "gotcha" you are simply confused. The blue iris mobile app is designed to complement the blue iris server and allow you to view video from the SERVER and make certain changes to the server including scheduling. It is NOT designed to connect to individual cameras or your NVR as the hikvision mobile app is. Blue is server IS the NVR.
    You will get hacked using port forwarding.
    That said there is nothing wrong with ivms, its just that you didnt properly port forward.
     
  3. foggysail

    foggysail n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ashland, MA
    Thanks for clearing that up. First thing is to get back to video. I am going to recheck both the port number that I want forwarded from my NVR and the forwarded port in the router. Things changed and I don’t know what. I had this working flawlessly until sometime last week.

    Back to Blue for a bit. If Blue is THE NVR, that implies that if one had many cameras, each cameras must be either attached to the systems router or via a switch to the local router. Why then could not a local NVR which could have many cameras communicate its video to Blue rather than a whole bunch of individual cameras?

    Or does it mean multiple cameras attach to a desktop via a switch rather then to a router to communicate to Blue’s server? Just trying to understand
     
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,233
    Likes Received:
    9,351
    In a traditional setup you would use a POE switch which would power the cameras and send data to blue iris. You would connect the pc to the switch not the router to maximize performance.
    The NVR can send the video to blue iris, blue iris would not know or care about the difference, the issue is that some NVR/DVR's choke when sending multiple streams. It would depend in the unit.
    If you want to keep the nvr the BEST solution is to buy a poe switch and send the camera stream independently to both the NVR and BI that way you have extra redundancy.
     
  5. foggysail

    foggysail n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ashland, MA
    I just pinged my home network without issues. I still cannot connect to my NVR (Ipad) when away using ivms-4500 LITE. My determination to restore a once working connection is being challenged to just chuck it, try something else. I have a spare....new, never used 8 port POE switch. I believe it has a decent enough bandwidth.

    Just upset that I have this problem after spending the money for a Hikvision 8 port NVR! NO, The cost to use BI is not a hinderance to using it. What is the hinderance is my somewhat stupid determination. As I type I have only 2 PTZ Hikvision cameras with intentions to add at least 3 more.

    Does BI allow remote control of PTZ cameras

    EDIT: My system sill not connect for live viewing BUT it does connect to view recording of pictures and videos
     
  6. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,233
    Likes Received:
    9,351
    BI allows for everything the NVR allows plus tons more.
    Your issue is not with hikvision, you have improperly set things up.
     
  7. foggysail

    foggysail n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ashland, MA
    So you say! My recipe worked once, it should still work.

    Ten minutes ago I viewed recordings, no longer!
     
  8. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,233
    Likes Received:
    9,351
    You didnt do it properly the first time either and likely your ip changed. It is obvious that you are clueless and dont know what you are doing. But if you want to be pompous about it then get your help somewhere else.
     
    SouthernYankee likes this.
  9. foggysail

    foggysail n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ashland, MA
    Maybe if your advise was clearer in the first place I would have resolved the problem earlier. And talk about being pompous, you get the award.

    Now back to ‘’likely your ip changed!’’ YEAH...... THAT WAS THE PROBLEM. I changed the NVR to a static IP last night along with making sure the ivms-4500 was using the same. Working fine now
     
  10. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,233
    Likes Received:
    9,351
    Wow what a fucking prick. Sorry I helped you. Turns out it WAS YOU and you are just an idiot.
    You are now banned and will never get free help here again. The door will hit you on the way out.
     
  11. fullboogie

    fullboogie n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Texas
    Did you really ban him over that?
     
  12. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,233
    Likes Received:
    9,351
    Absolutely. I will not tolerate ungrateful pricks. Did you not read his posts?
     
  13. Paul Wig

    Paul Wig n3wb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah, he could have re worded his posts. Anyway, he has gone now. I haven't posted much but I enjoy reading all the posts, some are quite informative and have helped me. Thanks for this forum!!
     
  14. fullboogie

    fullboogie n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Texas
    Fenderman doesn't like ass kissers either, pal. :p