Am I expecting or asking for too much from an IP Camera?

Aristotle

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all,

How are ya'll doing today. I've just joined the site, and this is my very first post. Please go easy, as i am really new to all of this.
I've previously owned a Foscam IP camera (yea i know most will feel pity on me about this), I've owned a Nest IP cam, and returned it.

One the the major constraints i've had with these two security cams are that the resolution though looks ok when things are bright, but barely one can identify faces, or get crystal clear image resolution.
I am currently seeking for two IP cams, one of them goes into my garage, and the other indoor in my living room mainly for security reasons, aiming at the door.
Here are the few things i am seeking in this this cam.

1. Great wtih Indoor ambient light.
2. Not dome, but something that can be mounted. If ya'll are suggesting a dome cam, can i invert the video? I cannot mount this on the wall, instead will have to place it over the fireplace.
3. Pan, and tilt, 360 degrees be awesome.
4. Greater MegaPixel, does that even matter, would it make sense that a greater megapixel will have better image clarity/resolution?
5. The camera moves, pans, tilts based on a human's movement. As i will be placing this camera pointing towards the door, I'd like to have the camera follow the movement of the person entering the house, though it might sound intimidating, but i dont mind.
6. Ability to record in full 1080p or higher (is ok), on a NAS.
7. Be great if it has remote viewing. (this is last on the list, and not that imp).

Ryan00

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Your not asking to much at all but with the pan tilt feature your looking into paying some money. I guess the question is are you willing to pay for the features you want. I'm guessing prob over 200.00 with pan/tilt.. also WDR should help with the light problems

Last edited:

Aristotle

n3wb
Reaction score