Am I looking for an Ethernet cable that doesn’t exist?

McLean

n3wb
Reaction score
First post. Have learned a lot from you all, thanks.

Background: I’m planning a system for my father’s rural cabin. It’s off the electrical grid. I just got some POE cameras and an NVR from Andy. Now I’m looking to order the cable.

I found out about 22 AWG Cat5e cable and thought it would be great for my project. Not because I’m going to need it for high voltage POE but because I’m looking to save electricity. Because my dad needs to generate all his own electricity, every watt counts. So it seems to me spending a little more for cable with less resistance makes sense. Am I right (I’m no electrical engineer)? Or is the difference between 22 AWG and 23 AWG (like Cat6) negligible?

I also want to run some cable underground to cameras some distance from his cabin. He’s had stuff stolen so cameras that might catch crooks at other places on the property (equipment locations, points of entry, etc) are part of the plan.

So here’s my dilemma. The mighty internet has taught me that buried conduit is almost inevitably going to get water inside and best practice is to use cable designed for direct burial (gel filled) in conduit. But I can’t find any cable that is both direct burial and 22 AWG.

The longest cable runs will of course be to the cameras I want to connect with buried cable. And those are the runs that would benefit the most from lower resistance wire (saving the most electricity).

So as of now I think I have to choose between 22 AWG not designed for a wet location and 23 AWG that is. But maybe my Google-fu is not as strong as yours.

Or maybe I’m making a bigger deal out of the wire gauge than I should (sounds like something I’d do).

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

tangent

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
23 or 24 AWG ethernet cable is just fine and is probably 99.9% of the ethernet cable out there.
JUST MAKE SURE THE CABLE IS SOLID COPPER, NOT CCA CRAP.