Analogue joystick control of Hikvision IP PTZ cameras

timb999

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hi all,

I have been using IP PTZ cameras for 4 years now, and currently have 2x Hikvision DS-2DE4220IW-DE cameras, and I’m using Blue Iris to control and record with them.

I have used the computer keyboard all this time to move and zoom the cameras, and it works, but is pretty clunky at best. I would really like an analogue joystick, so I can control how fast it pans and be more smooth and accurate.

I have tried USB joysticks like a 360 controller, but they operate in Blue Iris like a digital joystick. So, it’s no better than using a keyboard really, as it is very imprecise.

I really want to use an analogue joystick, but I don’t want to faff with more cables and use the RS485 option, my cams are a fair distance away so I want a USB solution really.

So...I wonder....is anyone anywhere using any solution for IP cameras, using USB, which gives them a great analogue controller?

Or does anyone have Hikvision IP cameras with the Hikvision IP joystick? Maybe that is an option, and I can control using that but still record in BI?

I have scoured the net for info on this but it seems really scarce...hoping someone can help please, even if it is just to say...’no, I don’t think that is possible without using rs485 etc’?

Thanks!

Tim.

timb999

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hello Tim, did you ever find a solution?
Hi - no, not really. The only info I managed to glean from a Hikvision supplier was that to control my cameras over a LAN, I need the DS-1200ki or the DS-1600ki keyboards/joysticks, both of which are seriously expensive. I am struggling to justify that expense when I can get a RS485 joystick for £50 or so. Therefore, unless I can find a cheap 1200/1600 soon, then i will probably go down the RS485 route, which i really did not want to, but I do not see any other solution. Still very happy to hear if anyone else has any suggestions?!

Raymond G