Another Intel Gen 8 CPU question

DRZmaui

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Newbie here, so please be nice. Will use the SBAR format for my question:

Subjective:

Intel Gen 8 CPU overworked with 8th 4K camera.

Background

After buying a Lorex 4K security system. Bought 2 additional 4k cameras. Realized the system was not enough. Decided to upgrade.

Went to Costco again, bought a HP Pavilion Desktop 590-P, Intel® i5-8400 CPU @2.80Ghz, RAM 12 GB, Added a Seagate purple 6TB hard drive. In addition, added a LG 24in monitor.

After hooking everything up, seem to work OK with 7 cameras. CPU was at 70-80%. When I hooked up the eight comers, this is when the troubles started. Program started to lock up at 100%.

Reading all of the Wiki, and blue iris recommendations. (i.e. To direct drive, Intel processor, less that 15 FPS, updated to the correct drivers, etc), still, can’t get the usage under 65-70%.

Assessment

Is this normal? Any idea’s to bring down the CPU%?

Plan

Might have to split my system into 2 systems. One Lorex, and another Blue Iris. Have 4 more cameras coming for EmpireTech.

Thanks again for taking the time to read my post.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
You will need 8th gen i7 for that load. Or if you don't need blueiris motion detection see limit decoding, understand how to set up properly so remotely viewing doesn't enable it.

DRZmaui

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
You will need 8th gen i7 for that load. Or if you don't need blueiris motion detection see limit decoding, understand how to set up properly so remotely viewing doesn't enable it.
Thanks,
yes it is a 8th Gen. Intel.
My main question, is the 8 4k cameras that much of a drain on the CPU? Not such a big deal. if it is, will just will keep the 8 cameras on the Lorex NVR system, and run the new cameras on the Blue Iris.
Thanks for you input

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Thanks,
yes it is a 8th Gen. Intel.