Another one..

Hammerhead786

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Hello All,

Another newbie here looking for some advice on this excellent forum. I've recently moved into a new house and am looking to set up a surveillance system. I've been doing some reading already of the great information provided by some of the members here, but my brain is struggling to make sense of it all.

My background is in IT and I don't mind getting my hands dirty. I'm looking to install POE cameras with my own server using Blue Iris with the ability to have remote access. I'm not looking to go cheap but I'm also not looking to go crazy either.

Since this is my first step into this, I would like really appreciate any and all advice. Ideally I'd like to have a system that is scalable, has motion detection, face recognition, good night vision capture and the ability to record licence plates.

First and foremost I'd like to get the exterior of the house covered and I've taken some pictures which can be found here Camera. I'm estimating that I will need 6 cameras initially.

Can anyone suggest the type and placement of cameras? I was thinking between bullet and turret cameras. Should I consider a PTZ camera anywhere?

Thanks in advance.

gwminor48

Known around here
Reaction score
Hello, welcome to the forum. From my own personal experience, I started out with bullets and spider webs got to be a real nuisance, almost a daily routine of cleaning them off. When I replaced them I got turrets and now I very rarely have spider web issues. I'll let others chime in about PTZ's. I have one in my backyard that I use more as a "critter cam" watching the birds, squirrels, and other critters that visit our backyard.

Hammerhead786

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Welcome to IPCT. I invite you to get a good start about camera selection (brand/model, focal length), mounting height & more by reading the Cliff Notes.