Anyone seeing memory leaks in 4.4.9.4?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by JoeShmo, Dec 18, 2016.

Share This Page

  1. JoeShmo

    JoeShmo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was adding a couple more dahua cameras, and noticed there was an update, silly me, I figure sure, what the heck, and applied 4.4.9.4 (I'm pretty sure I was on 4.4.9.x before, just not sure what x was.. and dont know if theres a way to check now).
    Anyway, after adding the cams, going out, coming back, Windows was complaining about low free memory.. odd.. BI was taking up 11gigs. restarted the app, back down to 2.7G, but increasing by about a meg a second, and eventually back to 8gigs and rising. Deleted the two new cams, restarted again, and same results.

    Before I go pestering BI support, I want to be sure that it's not something just on my system. Heres my setup:
    Windows 10, i7-6700 16gigs ram, Dedicated box, BI runs as service.
    3x Dahua, 3x Hikvision cams (all 3MP), constant record. cameras themselves are set to 10fps
    DB stored on SSD (system drive) New folder on an internal 1TB drive, Stored on 4TB USB3 drive.
    Capture snapshots when motion triggered, pre-trigger video buffer: 2.0 sec.
    video format: BI DVR, use FLAC audio compression. 2Gig max size for video files
    direct to disk video compression (cams are all H.264)
    (for the curious; I'm getting about 20 days of video retention on this setup)

    No other addons, no re-streaming (i shutdown my hallway tablet that I normally stream to when I saw this issue), CPU hanging around 10-15% as I'm RDP'd into the box, with BI console fired up.
    I've only been using BI for about 3 months now, so relatively new.
    Any thoughts/advice/suggestions welcome. (Other than yelling at me for not having a backup of the previous version)
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    15,342
    Likes Received:
    2,647
    There is a known issue with some drivers for skylake HD video...
     
  3. JoeShmo

    JoeShmo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    That reminds me of a message I saw SOMEWHERE about windows update breaking the quick sync drivers. So I removed the video drivers and rebooted. Oddly, the intel drivers refused to install, insisting that I use drivers from the vendor (Dell in this case), so windows update just re-installed the video drivers.
    Now its using about 953Megs of ram, and held that way overnight. So will attempt adding those 2 cams back, and see what happens.
     
  4. hawkigrad

    hawkigrad n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    My BI eats memory on my Intel systems - one of which is Skylake with discrete graphics and the other is older Intel Gen 2 system again with discrete graphics. Did you get your problem solved?
     
  5. josalamanca007

    josalamanca007 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    8
    I was having issues with BI 4.4.9.4 x 64.

    Running i7-6700 with Intel HD 530, I updated the Display drivers to 21.20.16.4542 and I no longer have memory leak issues(was running 21.20.16.4528).
     
  6. JoeShmo

    JoeShmo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    @hawkigrad: yes, problem seems to be solved. it's only using 976.7 MB right now, after running overnight last night, and all day today. So maybe windows update and/or reboot actually fixed it? Odd, because like I said, it was running fine, I updated BI, and it was immediately leaking memory. No windows update or reboot between the BI restart on new version.

    I'm running the HD Graphics 530 driver dated 9/29/2016 (version 20.19.15.4531)
    Also, not that it makes a diff, but there is no monitor on this box, so I have to remote into it to see anything, but wanted this chipset for the QuickSync capability.. even though I'm using direct-to-disk anyway. Not sure if you can still use Quick Sync if you have an add-on video card...?
     
  7. Santakrooz

    Santakrooz n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm seeing the memory leak since upgrading to 4.4.9.4 - BIs memory climbs about 500mb per hour right now. BI ends up taking all of my 8GB and crashing. I will update my graphics driver and see if that helps.
     
  8. JoeShmo

    JoeShmo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I'm playing around with another camera, and after adding it to BI, once again, memory is leaking all over the place. Restarting BI or Rebooting did not help. So, I went to device manager, and uninstalled the HD 530 graphics driver, which prompted a reboot. After rebooting, the same driver was still in place, but BI was no longer leaking memory.

    Very odd... So, @Santakrooz, did you happen to add a camera, then notice the memory leak?
     
  9. JoeShmo

    JoeShmo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    false fix. I looked again today, and memory was leaking all over the floor. I'm thinking something, somewhere is triggering it... not just adding/changing a camera.
     
  10. josalamanca007

    josalamanca007 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    8
    What Intel Display adapter is this on ?
     
  11. JoeShmo

    JoeShmo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Onboard Intel HD Graphics 530, as part of the Skylake chipset.
    Turning off hardware acceleration completely makes it not lose memory as quick. Only about 200k per sec used as opposed to 2MB/sec.
     
  12. Q™

    Q™ Known around here

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    719
    Location:
    Megatroplis, USA
  13. JoeShmo

    JoeShmo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, I wish I had saved the various versions. The only one I have is 4.4.5.1 (September 2016), which is probably fine. Not sure what changed between 4.4.5.1 and 4.4.9.4. Can you tell me the date & filesize of 4.4.9.1? Maybe I can find it somewhere out there on the net...

    Unfortunately, since this is a Dell, it will not allow me to install the latest drivers from Intel, as I might "lose functionality" by not using the manufacturer's custom drivers. (rolling eyes). I suppose I could just go out and buy another motherboard, and pop this chip into it... what a royal pain.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2016
  14. josalamanca007

    josalamanca007 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have a HP Elitedesk 800 g2 which said the same thing about the driver update. I manually updated the drivers, no memory leak.
     
  15. Q™

    Q™ Known around here

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    719
    Location:
    Megatroplis, USA
    Scanned with Eset Endpoint Antivirus and found to be clean...
     

    Attached Files:

    rubb3rtoe and JoeShmo like this.
  16. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    15,342
    Likes Received:
    2,647
    its not the motherboard...its because you did not do a clean install of windows and used dell's installation...there is an easy workaround..Manually Install an Intel® Graphics Driver in Windows® 10 and Windows...or better yet, reinstall windows using microsofts media creation tool.
     
  17. Q™

    Q™ Known around here

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    719
    Location:
    Megatroplis, USA
    Hey, here's an FYI I came across the other day...

    How to reinstall Windows 10 without any bloatware
    How to reinstall Windows 10 without any bloatware
     
  18. JoeShmo

    JoeShmo n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks very much everyone for all the help and options!
    I downloaded the driver zip file from intel (rather than the installer), and was able to install the 21.20.16.4542 drivers manually, turned back on hardware accel, rebooted, and BI is holding steady at 1,570.8 MB, and around 4-6 % CPU usage (9 cameras now). Will see how it goes!

    Been a while since I used windows, or bought a pre-assembled computer, forgot about all the hoops I gotta jump through. I probably should eventually do a clean install of W10, although I can't get rid of the MS bloatware (cortana and other such junk). This is still less of a headache than zoneminder!
     
  19. Santakrooz

    Santakrooz n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I didn't add a new camera. However it's interesting I had just started using the HLS stream. I did update the intel graphics driver, and it appeared that the memory leak was gone, but then I started to stream via HLS again and memory is leaking like crazy again. I hadn't thought of it at the time, but the leak started when I started using the HLS stream. Previously I only used the jpeg/mjpeg streams. I stop the page using the HLS stream, and the leak stopped growing. I'm fairly confident the leak is related to utilizing the HLS stream.
     
  20. Santakrooz

    Santakrooz n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Further testing, the memory leak is very clearly tied to any use of the HLS stream. If I access the HLS stream from my webpage I can watch the memory usage steadily tick up, and never gets released. If I halt the stream, it stops but the memory is never freed. Can quickly chew up several GB of memory or run out of memory altogether and crash. This doesn't happen with the Jpeg access, or the MJPEG stream.

    Does anyone know a good way to reach Blueiris? I've submitted this issue to Blueiris via email several times at support@blueirissoftware.com - however the emails keep coming back "undeliverable".

    Thanks,
    SK

    Update: I tried HA and service mode, and HLS memory leak is still there with either.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2017
  21. spankdog

    spankdog n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem with the driver I got from windows update. I have since updated to driver version 21.20.16.4551 and it seems to be working fine.
     
  22. Santakrooz

    Santakrooz n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thx. I updated to the latest from intel (not win update) but I'm on i5 Ivy Bridge w/HD2500, not haswell+ so 15.33.44.4491 (10.18.10.4491) 4/4/16 is the most current for my PC. Will keep poking at it. No fun crashing every night.