Anyone use the Roku IP Cam Viewer to see live view on their TV ?

GKL

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
If so, I have a couple questions if anyone can help.

First is it safe to use the Roku IP Cam Viewer ?

I ask this because I read elsewhere of possible concerns of being hacked, but did not yet get any update if it is a genuine concern and if so if it is an ongoing concern or is there a solution.

Second, it is confusing trying to figure out exactly what to fill in on all the fields when trying to set up the camera access in the IP Cam Viewer set up page, so a precise explanation by anyone who has successfully done so would be appreciated.

I use a Hikvision DS-2CD2342WD-I 4MM camera.

For those not familiar with that Roku app, here is a link - Roku

Thanks !

LBJ

n3wb
Reaction score
I tried to get that app going with my Hikvision Turret for about 2 hours, trying all configurations, and I gave up.

As for security, I didn't see the Roku app as a concern, but I'm no expert.

Reactions: GKL

GKL

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I tried to get that app going with my Hikvision Turret for about 2 hours, trying all configurations, and I gave up.

Thanks for the reply, figuring out the right stuff to put in the set up fields has been a challenge so far but if I can get it working I'll see about posting what I did here on this thread. It may not be real soon as I have other things I'm working on too, but hopefully within a week, IF I get it figured out :wtf: :lol:

tangent

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Roku doesn't support RTSP. You're limited to mjpeg or refreshing static jpegs.

You're better off with with something you can run android apps like Blue Iris mobile app or Tiny Cam Pro, an amazon Fire stick, Nvidia Shield, or other android stick.

t84a

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score

Same. Pretty crappy.

GKL

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Roku doesn't support RTSP. You're limited to mjpeg or refreshing static jpegs.