Best night vision ip cam for baby monitor?

Reaction score
Hi all

I'm looking for an ip cam to use as a baby monitor. I have little knowledge on the subject and have had a look around for a few hours online but haven't made much progress.

I'm after a cam as good pic quality as possible (day and night), must be able to view via laptop, tablet, smart phone also viewing on smart tv would be a bonus. Must have good night vision clarity. Remote pan and tilt would be a bonus. Two way talk also a bonus.

Budget is up to £140

TIA

Del Boy

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
If you already have Hikvision then DS-2CD2432F-IW is less than £140 (about £110ish) and will support day/night, laptop, tablet smart phone. No PTZ but is 3MP and does have two-way talk.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Pan tilt is a gimmic on the cheap indoor cameras..many have narrow fields of view and limited resolution so they need it to get coverage of the room..as suggested, get the 2432 with a 2.8mm wide angle lens and you will get 24/7 coverage of the entire room

jordanb

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
defo go with the 2432, I have a 2.8mm 3mp version, cant fault it in any way.

Reaction score
Thanks for the replies.

What did you mean if I already have hikvision?

Is this camera all I need to buy? How do I view it on my phone, does software come with it or is it a website I use to see the stream? Is there software to use to view it with my tablet over the WiFi network at home?

I'm sorry for all the dumb questions but I'm a complete n00b to all this.

Del Boy

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
I meant that I personally would only buy Hikvision cameras if I had a Hikvision NVR. If you want a standalone there are cheaper and better cameras out there. The good thing about Hikvision is you can use the iVMS software on your Android or iPhone/iPad. It's really easy to use and let's you login. All you will need is the camera and a 12v power supply like this one.