BI4 connection lost, but local browser shows video

JNDATHP

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
274
Reaction score
191
Location
USA
What might be the cause when BI4 indicates a camera connection has been lost, but when I use a browser and connect directly to the camera, I can see that it is working normally?

Thanks
 

social26

n3wb
Joined
Jun 9, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Location
LA
The computer running BI lost connection to camera, others don't. The camera is still connected to the network, chances are the BI computer is not.
 

JNDATHP

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
274
Reaction score
191
Location
USA
This additional information may help. Seems the bit rate is really low, perhaps getting so low that BI interprets it as a loss of stream?

I bought these cameras before I found this forum and while I intend to replace them with Dahaus, the budget doesn’t allow for it right now.

69CE2BEA-7EC9-48F5-ADF7-AF6F1B2BA7CA.png 44A05A7C-9C67-4D47-96B1-BA8F570DAE32.png F9320A6C-85B1-4790-B496-0BDA540279EA.png EC7AC14A-6A32-4957-97FC-99027554F655.png
 

social26

n3wb
Joined
Jun 9, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Location
LA
What kind camera are these? Impressive web admin page.

The low FPS is better, according to the optimization guide, I purposely limited my camera to 15fps for best motion trigger effect. Unless you only want to record, the most popular use of surveillance camera is for motion detection.
 

JNDATHP

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
274
Reaction score
191
Location
USA
I just upped it to 20 from 15 to see if it makes any difference. I do run 24/7 recording on all outside cameras.

The cameras are esunstar.net / Yucheng. Supposedly low light, but not really.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,135
Reaction score
6,352
Location
USA
Nothing about those settings strikes me as a problem. It is a shame there is no iframe interval control though because that cam is using a pretty long one of about 5 seconds if I'm interpreting Blue Iris's statistics correctly.

The bit rate does seem way too low for 20 FPS at "Highest" quality. Maybe there is a bad network cable in there. Though I see 3 cams with similarly low bit rate and a bunch with higher bit rates so who knows?
 

JNDATHP

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
274
Reaction score
191
Location
USA
FrontDoor, Loft and SideDoor are Dahua cameras.

I crimped all the Ethernet and checked them before connecting so believe they are good. Used an inexpensive meter to test them. BTW, I’m not a low voltage installer - retired LEO.

I think I just need to bite the bullet and order a 5231 from Andy to see what’s different.

Any other suggestions are much appreciated.

Thanks
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,135
Reaction score
6,352
Location
USA
Dahua cams aren't immune to problems either :)

I have one in particular that sometimes goes offline and when I run a ping test against it, it will be dropping an insane amount of packets and the web interface will therefore be barely responsive. But most of the time it is fine and stable. The last time it was acting up badly I downgraded its firmware and that didn't affect anything at all. Rebooting its PoE switch didn't fix it either. I still have no idea what is wrong with it. Ain't technology great?
 

anijet

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
257
Reaction score
101
Location
CA
.................... I think I just need to bite the bullet and order a 5231 from Andy to see what’s different.

Any other suggestions are much appreciated.

Thanks
Remember the less expensive 2231 if you don't need audio. As far as I can tell they have the same video quality.
 
Top