Blocked Google, and now can't access BI remotely.

OBXJeepGuy

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Some of you may have seen where I was talking about all of these strange IP addresses showing up on my BI Status logs under "connections". What will happen is I will log in remotely, the Verizon IP address my phone has will show up, and then almost immedaitely, it will change to a google IP address which comes back to bc.googleusercontent.com. After blocking their entire IP range, I now cannot access BI remotely. This really pisses me off because for the first while of using this remotely, I wouldn't have any such nonsense "attached" when I would log in. Now that I have blocked it all, it seems as if Google has said "Oh yeah? Watch this."

This brings me to the fact that now I have to set up a VPN on pfSense, and also make it so my wife can use it. And that is IF a VPN will cure any of this.

Anyone else having trouble with, or found a way around it? I am quite new with pfSense, so be easy on me.

The Automation Guy

Known around here
Reaction score
A VPN can cure the issue. With a VPN you can stop trying to block Google. The VPN will create an encrypted tunnel between your device and your local network. Nothing can snoop this connection, including Google or Verizon. A VPN that is set up correctly will also require a encryption key to to connect to your local network. So while technically there is still one open port on your firewall/router for the VPN, it cannot be penetrated without the encryption key which makes it much more secure than simply opening/forwarding a port to your BI machine which is how you have been handling it.