Blue-Iris Android mobile App . Setup and config ? How...?

Discussion in 'Android' started by HB9JOI, Aug 12, 2015.

Share This Page

  1. HB9JOI

    HB9JOI n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central-Switzerland
    Hello ... On my computer is running Blue-Iris v.4.... Full-Version . I just bought in addition the Blu-Iris-App. for my Android Smartphone .But ...I don`t know what are the correct entries which must be in the fields for ... : 1.) Local Server Address2.) External Server Address3.) Username (same from PC-Account ?)4.) Password (same from PC-Account ?) I would like to control my WLAN IP-Cams live and see actions via the smartphone from anywhere ... also if I stay not at home ...Thanks for help , Jens
     

    Attached Files:

  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    19,907
    Likes Received:
    4,143
    @HB9JOI For the local server, you need to enter the ipaddress of the pc running blue iris followed by the port. so for example 192.168.1.151:8585 where 8585 is the port...go to the webserver tab and you will see the local ip address listed there. You must setup a static ip address for this pc..usually set in the routers dhcp reservation table because if you dont you will not be able to view the cams when the internal ip changes.

    For wan, you need to enter your external ip address also followed by the port..the ip address will be listed in the webserver tab. You will need to properly configure port forwarding as well as use a dynamic dns service like no-ip.com as you likely dont have a static ip address from your ISP.
     
  3. Falcon

    Falcon n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    New to the Forum as well.
    Same boat as OP. Just got the App to use on an extra Galaxy S3 on WIFI only around the house. Trying to first set-up WIFI access.
    Is the User ID and Password something set up in BI Options/Users page? Or the Window Computer name and log-on password?

    Falcon
     
  4. Camit

    Camit Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    68
    And what if your running something like OpenVPN ?? Just so they understand
     
  5. srglassw

    srglassw Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    11
    The User ID and Password are as set up in BI Options/Users.
     
  6. Falcon

    Falcon n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    @srglassw That worked. Thanks for helping a newb. I can now see and move my cameras through the WIFI.
    Now how do you rename the server? It's listed as "Unnamed" on the login screen. I want one server for WIFI (around my property), and another to login when away from home.

    Falcon
     
  7. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    19,907
    Likes Received:
    4,143
    Server name is set in the about tab on the pc software...you will only have one name..the app allows you to enter both the wan and lan ip's so no need for two names (unlike most NVR mobile apps)..
     
  8. bucko

    bucko Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    The problem with the BI app is that it will not dynamically update it's WAN address. So if you are trying to use it remotely, it will not connect once your WAN address changes. No matter if you use a DNS client or not.

    The workaround is simple. When BI fails to connect, use the edit button and press GET IPS. This will update the BI app to the correct IP. Then click UPDATE "name" and BI will connect.

    The BI app is not updating the WAN ip on it's own as it should.
     
  9. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    19,907
    Likes Received:
    4,143
    Or use your own ddns service... regardless it has nothing to do with the issue above..
     
  10. Helmar

    Helmar n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Eugene Oregon
    That helps for me too. Does anyone know if there is more of a detailed instruction for the iPhone app ?
    The help section on the app does not answer my questions in what and how to control all the features. Lots of blah blah blah.

    Trying not to become a button stabber.
     
  11. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    19,907
    Likes Received:
    4,143
    you will need to read the treads discussing port forwarding, or for a more secure setup vpn....both are discussed extensively...what version of android app and android are you running? that looks really old..
    username is the users you setup IN blue iris in the user tab.