Blue Iris Android w/ geofencing & notifications

cinnabuns

n3wb
Reaction score
I just set up BI and installed the mobile app and have been trying to get geofencing and notifications to work properly, but to no avail.

The problem is that everything works only when I am actively using the BI Android app, but when my screen is off for a while, the app seems to no longer do anything in the background (update geofencing location or get notifications). I've emailed support but have received no response.

I have lots of other apps that do background updates and push notifications properly (Life360 is the most similar).

I'm stuck on Android 5.0.2 because my Sony Xperia Z3 isn't getting any newer updates.

Any suggestions on how I can get geofencing to work (even if phone goes into deep sleep mode)? That's really the only reason why I picked BI over other free NVR software. Or are there any other Android apps that work with BI server geofencing?

logbuilder

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I don't have an answer for your problem. However, I do use the app and have some general thoughts.

My wife uses the BI mobile app on her iPhone and I use it on my android device (Note 4). Her UI seems much more intuitive. Mine seems clunky. I wish the two were the same in terms of the UI.

As far as geofencing, the BI implementation seems reasonable but has drawbacks. The app has to be active on the device and location services needs to be on. That is a big negative for me. For several reasons, battery life being one, I don't let apps continue to run after I use them and I only turn on location services when I need it which is seldom. I also am not a big google fan and them seeing everywhere I go is just too much. For these reasons, I'm not going to be using geofencing in its current implementation.

I wish there was an alternative in BI server that when a known phone(s) was connected to the local wireless network, it considered you home. If not connected, you are away.