Blue Iris - High CPU - I know...

trock

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I know...the high CPU usage question. Here is the thing; I have been running Blue Iris for over 6 months with 9 4MP hikvision turrets at about 60% CPU recording at 20FPS on motion. I have the format set to Blue Iris Video and Direct-to-Disk (D2D) set. This is how I initially set it up. I have the computer restricted by a firewall so no traffic is allowed out to the internet so Windows Updates or Blue Iris have not updated. In an attempt to resolve the issue I have updated BI and the OS; to no avail.

1. Direct to Disk
2. Blue Iris Video Format
3. Text Overlay Disabled
4. 20FPS set on all cameras
5. No AV running, and Windows Defender is disabled.

PC: Dell XPS 8900
16GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 745

In Use:
Blue Iris Version: Release 4.5.3.7 x64
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700 CPU @ 3.40GHz, 3048 Mhz 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Procs [100%]
RAM: 3.19G

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
I know...the high CPU usage question. Here is the thing; I have been running Blue Iris for over 6 months with 9 4MP hikvision turrets at about 60% CPU recording at 20FPS on motion. I have the format set to Blue Iris Video and Direct-to-Disk (D2D) set. This is how I initially set it up. I have the computer restricted by a firewall so no traffic is allowed out to the internet so Windows Updates or Blue Iris have not updated. In an attempt to resolve the issue I have updated BI and the OS; to no avail.

1. Direct to Disk
2. Blue Iris Video Format
3. Text Overlay Disabled
4. 20FPS set on all cameras
5. No AV running, and Windows Defender is disabled.

PC: Dell XPS 8900
16GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 745

In Use:
Blue Iris Version: Release 4.5.3.7 x64
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700 CPU @ 3.40GHz, 3048 Mhz 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Procs [100%]
RAM: 3.19G

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance.
Step one: remove nvidia card.
Step two: enable hardware acceleration in BI. NO-VPP