Camera Keeps resetting it's own password

Discussion in 'Hikvision' started by razorseal, Jan 6, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. razorseal

    razorseal Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hey everyone,

    I'm using hikvision cameras in my house, and the one in question is a DS-2CD2432F-IW. (I can't tell fw because I can't login at this moment).

    The cameras resets its own password randomly, causing me to lose access to it... any ideas what this could be?

    I use the admin username with my own password.

    I think I've had another camera do this, but I can't remember...

    Thanks!
     
  2. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    826
    Location:
    New York
    How do you know the camera is resetting it? Do you login with default PW? What firmware are you running? Make sure you're on the latest firmware, you may be hacked. Check our downloads section for firmware.
     
    fenderman likes this.
  3. razorseal

    razorseal Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    How common is it to get hacked? I don't login with Default PW. I don't know FW because I just got locked out, so I can't see until I login after I reset password.

    I believe camera resets it because I can see the password on blue iris and I know the password.

    I've always been afraid of fw updates on these. I heard you can brick them if it's a grey market one or something. I don't remember where I got it 4-5 years ago lol.
     
  4. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    826
    Location:
    New York
    I mean after the password is changed, is it changed to the default password? Is admin being changed? 4-5 year old firmware has a chance of being hacked
     
    fenderman likes this.
  5. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    27,900
    Likes Received:
    7,732
    It is VERY common. There is no reason your camera should be exposed to the internet. You MUST disable all port forwarding for the cameras on your router AND disable UPNP on the ROUTER AND on the camera itself.
     
    bp2008 likes this.
  6. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    826
    Location:
    New York
  7. razorseal

    razorseal Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    it is for the admin. I just changed the password again (used recovery tool).

    Let me check the port forwarding article now. I access everything through blue iris. How will I access it if I disable everything?

    I'm on 5.2.5 build 141201
     
  8. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    27,900
    Likes Received:
    7,732
    VPN. But the password hack will only occur if the CAMERA itself is port forwarded, which is dont automatically by many cameras if your router is set to allow upnp.
     
  9. razorseal

    razorseal Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    I used to use a VPN on that computer (PIA with port forwarding) but I haven't used it in a while. I had issues with it when they would reassign port numbers etc.

    I checked off UPNP on the camera. For port forwarding, where do I look on camera settings? I just have the Port tab with the untouched settings.

    I also can't find a newer FW besides what I have. My camera isn't even on the downloads, or I'm not seeing it (DS-2CD2432F-IW)
     
  10. Q™

    Q™ IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4,083
    Likes Received:
    2,594
    Location:
    Megatroplis, USA
    @razorseal needs to Google port forwarding...

     
  11. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    27,900
    Likes Received:
    7,732
    PIA is a waste of money and does absolutely nothing. You need to run a vpn server on your end. See vpn primer for noobs thread.
    port forwarding is done on the router. You dont need to update the firmware if you dont give the camera access to the internet, which it likely has.
     
  12. razorseal

    razorseal Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
  13. razorseal

    razorseal Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    Right, I have port forwarding enabled for blue iris so I can login to that and see my cameras remotely...

    how do I disable access for the camera to internet? I shut off UPNP, but can't figure out how to disable port forwarding?
     
  14. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    27,900
    Likes Received:
    7,732
    check your router and see if there are any ports forwarded other than the blue iris webserver port.
     
  15. razorseal

    razorseal Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    Tried updating fw of the camera. Now I no longer can access it... been over 10 minutes. That's a bummer.

    I have 3 port forwards, Blue Iris, Plex Server and Octoprint (for 3d printing)
     
  16. Q™

    Q™ IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4,083
    Likes Received:
    2,594
    Location:
    Megatroplis, USA
    It would be helpful if you could provide better descriptions of what you have done. What does "tried" mean? Did you successfully upload new firmware to your camera and initiate the firmware update function via the camera's Web User Interface?
     
  17. Q™

    Q™ IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4,083
    Likes Received:
    2,594
    Location:
    Megatroplis, USA
    Where did you purchase your Hikvision cameras?
     
  18. razorseal

    razorseal Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    Alright, not sure how descriptive I can be.. Let me try to be more helpful so you can help...

    I have a DS-2CD2432F-I(W) with V 5.2.5. I don't recall where I bought it. I believe it was 2015 when i purchased it.

    I went on here and found the appropriate FW - R0 series DS-2CD2x32x-Ixx IP camera firmware

    I downloaded it, used winrar to unzip, and went to my camera's browser, went into advanced > system > maintenance and browsed to the .dav file and clicked upgrade.

    It has been about 20-30 minutes and the camera has the alarm LED on and IR light on. No other activity.
     
  19. Q™

    Q™ IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4,083
    Likes Received:
    2,594
    Location:
    Megatroplis, USA
    Thank you.

    Where did you purchase your Hikvision cameras?

    Does the camera in question have the string "CCH" in it's serial number?
     
  20. razorseal

    razorseal Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    I don't recall. I remember one of them was purchased on ebay (used) but I can't recall which it was. I have two bullet cams that were purchased from amazon via 3rd party... I think it was ali express now that I think about it.

    I believe it did. All 3 cameras have "CCH" on the serial that I can see from SADP now. I believe that one did too.

    Let me guess... What I dreaded earlier just happened to me. This is a Chinese fw and I just tried uploading EN fw to it, and bricked it.