Camera placement input/suggestions

TheE

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Any input would be greatly appreciated with my initial thoughts/plans. I have a 5231R-ZE I want to use to monitor our vehicles. I also have a PFB203W Mount to install the camera into the brick.

As you can see, our driveway and vehicle placement to the house are not what I would call normal. My wife and I park this way (car away from our house) 98% of the time.

I'm still very new to this stuff, but the one thing that worries me with this initial plan is IR reflection off the brick near the camera's placement. Your thoughts? Also, am I wrong in believing that this angle/location is the BEST to veiw our vehicles?

Again, thank you for your time and any input or suggestions would be more than welcome.

Attachments

Last edited:

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
I would either locate the camera closer to the cars or pull the cars forward...

TheE

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I would either locate the camera closer to the cars or pull the cars forward...
Thank you, sir. We can indeed move the vehicles closer. Do you feel this would help or not with any IR reflection that may happen with the location of the camera?

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
By moving the cars closer, you'll be able to aim the camera such that the IR isnt hitting the wall as much. You'll also get better ID with a closer focus.

Good on you for considering the IR reflection, Its always hard focusing down the side of a building, by moving the cars forward you'll be able to aim the camera more to the left and have less IR hitting the wall and more lens on what matters.

TheE

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Appreciate it.. It's just the closer I move the vehicles closer to the camera the more I lose view of one of the vehicles (the car). I just have really bad angles to work with at this location :/

TheE

Pulling my weight
Reaction score