Camera recommendation Laundrymat

Discussion in 'IP Cameras' started by myknownself, Jan 3, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. myknownself

    myknownself Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I first set up my system years ago, I went with some foscam ip cameras and blue iris.

    I have one of my indoor ptz now die and needs replaced, I have had issues with them resetting their position. I don't know if this is a foscam issue, power issue or what. So I am thinking maybe a fixed wider angle lens? The ptz were always fixed and only occasionally/rarely moved around.

    Lets call it a 20'x30' area with four cameras currently in it. What would you start replacing them with?

    Thanks
     
  2. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    1,005
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
  3. myknownself

    myknownself Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks

    I read through that thread and eventually will buy one for the outdoors and possibly the shop.

    For indoors on the laundrymat though, the low light / night vision is completely wasted as there are always lights on.

    Anything around $100 mark?
     
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    20,754
    Likes Received:
    4,445
    grab some 4mp dahua/hikvision turrets for indoors...dahua has some nice 4mp motorized varifocal domes which will work well for indoors for about 90 dollars each via ali/ebay..
    Note, that you may have to upgrade your blue iris machine to handle these higher resolution cameras.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2017
  5. myknownself

    myknownself Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll see if I can find the right ones.

    Probably so, I need to move to an Intel skylake for the acceleration it provides
     
  6. myknownself

    myknownself Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. myknownself

    myknownself Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are the turrets better than the bullets? I'm not able to attach to the ceiling as there are drop lights that would block a lot of vision and I need angles to the mounting walls that I think would tilt the image.
     
  8. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    5,021
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Turrets are every bit as installable as Bullets; they just have a larger footprint.. Most people, including my self.. find Turrets more aesthetically pleasing than Bullets.
     
    hmjgriffon likes this.
  9. myknownself

    myknownself Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's installable but I think I would need to make a bracket coming out from the wall. I cant' mount to the ceiling and need the camera to be looking at a ~45 degree angle from the wall it is on.

    Either way, what is the best model to go with now around the $100 mark?

    I'm not sure what letters mean in the model number
    HDBW4431R-AS vs HDBW4431R-ZS for instance. I'm looking at empire as I saw them on the link for the starlight thread I believe
     
  10. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    5,021
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    my turret is mounted flush to the wall, it'll look from 0-90 degrees in any angle.. up, down, left, right.. it can twist clockwise/counter clockwise as much as needed; the adjustability is full and not limited.

    those cheap varifocals (-ZS) are getting terrible feedback/reviews..
     
  11. bug99

    bug99 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    59
    do you leave your turrets exposed to the elements or place them in housings (big dome)?
     
  12. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    5,021
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    they are all weather IP67 rated; so I leave em exposed to all mother nature has to offer.. the'll be fine.
     
    hmjgriffon likes this.
  13. myknownself

    myknownself Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh interesting, good to know. I thought the video would end up being sideways.

    Which model do you recommend for indoors laundromat that's 20'x30', always have lights on, wide angle as possible for coverage.

    Thank you
     
  14. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    5,021
    Location:
    Denver, CO
  15. myknownself

    myknownself Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ended up ordering the IPC-HDW4231EM-AS from Empire instead. I don't think I received a power supply with it, not sure if that is normal or not so I put in a message to them. I assumed by model name it was the same internals as the one you listed but in different form that was more convenient and not much more so got the IR just in case.

    I may be picking up the HDBW5231R-Z shortly for an outdoor camera
     
  16. tangent

    tangent Known around here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    688
    Use power over ethernet (either built into your nvr or a poe switch) and no additional power supply is needed.
     
  17. myknownself

    myknownself Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have a poe switch. It may have been worth the extra investment but I'd bought a 8-port gigabit netgear prosafe switch on a post Christmas sale for something like $10? I'm using blue iris on a remote pc so don't have the nvr hookup.

    My installation is a mess but since no one else sees anything but the cameras I don't care much.
     
  18. tangent

    tangent Known around here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    688
    Get a PoE switch, it's the simplest option. Better than making it easy for people to unplug the cams or running another wire. All your cables should end in the same place (at switch).
     
  19. myknownself

    myknownself Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    The camera I replaced had electricity at the camera out of sight and reach, all the one's currently set up too. If they can unplug the power from the camera then they can unplug the Ethernet from the camera.

    In future installations I"ll look to do that though.

    I've been trying to find laws and regulations for Texas as to what one needs to install cameras as I've had cops ask me questions about my cameras and system and makes me a little nervous.
     
  20. myknownself

    myknownself Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like a lot of the switches only run 4 poe ports where I have 8 cameras in there.
     
  21. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    5,021
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    they make 48 port PoE switches, keep looking..

    if you install the ethernet through the wall/ceiling under the camera, or on a conduit connected junction box, it cannot be unpluged without dismounting the camera.. whereas someone can usually toss a shoe at a power brick high on the wall and knock it out.. unless your using twist-loc plugs its just a friction fit for power.
     
  22. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    1,005
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
  23. myknownself

    myknownself Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I'd never heard of that brand and was looking at the beans I've long been familiar with. At that price I'd look to pick it up for another project.

    True on getting to the plugs. Mine are either through walls or tucked into the channel of the steel I beam frame of the building. I'm 6 ft tall and can't reach those cameras without standing on something.

    Every install is different. If I was starting from scratch I'd definitely give all that a go.
     
  24. tangent

    tangent Known around here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    688
    It comes down to a "reasonable expectation of privacy" in most cases. Meaning recording in bedrooms, bathrooms, locker rooms, etc is illegal. I don't think you need to worry about recording video, it's recording audio that could get you in trouble.
     
  25. tangent

    tangent Known around here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    688
    Getting a PoE switch is cheaper than buying a bunch of power adapters AND makes supplying backup power from a UPS a piece of cake.
     
  26. myknownself

    myknownself Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have signs up about recording taking place and the cameras are obvious. I just mean licencing for installation.

    All my previous cameras came with power supplies so never had to purchase them, they don't do poe anyway I don't think. But yeah at installation I put money into electrical wire. But at this point it's already there. Next project though I'm definitely looking to do poe
     
  27. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    5,021
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    no licensing the cops will be concerned with, that would be code enforcement, usually low voltage wiring such as this dont require permits and inspections if you didnt mess with anything structural.. if you had a fire inspection recently and they didnt have a problem with them your probably in the clear.

    now if you installed a bunch of 120vac electrical outlets for your camera install, your probably needed an electrical inspection.. espically as a business.
     
  28. tangent

    tangent Known around here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    688
    The IPC-HDW4231EM-AS has PoE (802.3af) that's why no power adapter was included.
     
  29. myknownself

    myknownself Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks and thanks.

    I'd just assumed, out didn't say it did or not so just thought I'd check.

    I'd read some states have low voltage licensing, weird. There was also having to have security license but sounded like if only the system was to be monitored by a person or set up to an alarm system but I'm not sure.

    I live in a small town and they're wanting some cameras up at the airport hangar so thought I'd check such things.
     
  30. tangent

    tangent Known around here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    688
    Doing a self install vs. installing something at someone else's property can be different things. Some form of license could be required depending on your state/county you may also want to consider insurance.