Camera recommendation with Dahua N52B2P4

Charles_CO

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am new to LPR. I have a customer that has Dahua N52B2P4 Pro-Series 4K 8-Channel and he wants to capture license plates on incoming cars.
He has already Dahua camera for general overview and I am looking for solution to get license plates recorded with additional camera optimized for LPR.
Conditions: Day and nights. Distance is within 30' and probably less. Slow moving cars. Camera would be located pretty low 35-40" off the ground.

What would be the optimal camera?

Is there a way to use existing Dahua N52B2P4 Pro-Series 4K to capture license plates or so I need something special to achieve that?

Thanks for you input. Charles

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
I'd recommend a varifocal to make it easy to get the full plate under most any conditions at that range. A 12mm should do the trick, or for extra insurance got to the Z4 version.

Keep in mind that LPR is a single dedicated use case. At night the only thing you'll see is head or tail lights and the license plate. Shutter speeds, exposure, need to be 1/1000 or higher to get clear captures. Have a look at these threads on LPR.

LPR

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
There are two ways to read plates - visually or having the camera/VMS capable to read and log the plates. That NVR does not have that capability. So your client would either need to purchase another NVR or just accept that the camera will be able to allow them to pull up the video and manually read it.

Have you looked at the LPR subforum?

How far away are the plates from where the camera would be (and recognize most people underestimate distance, so 50 feet ends up actually being 80 feet when you install it)?

You need optical zoom that is only accomplished with a larger varifocal and a camera that you can manually set the shutter speed.

For plate reading, or any IDENTIFY at distance, focal length is more important than MP.