Camera Recommendation?

mpking828

n3wb
Reaction score
I've been using Milestone Xprotect essential for a few years now with 3 camera's.
(1) Hikvision DS-2CD2432F-IW
(2) DLink 942L

All 3 are setup and work fine, but the microphone is disabled. (Seems like it's almost a requirement based on all the forums I've read)

I need to enable the microphone. I also want to replace the Dlink camera's (the video quality is junk).

Anyone have a camera recommendation that will allow Milestone Xprotect essentials to use the Microphone as well? (Not married to anyone brand).

As you can see from my previous selections, I do like the small square camera's, but I can make anything work. Currently the two Dlink's are wireless, but I am equipped to pull in Cat 5e/6 and run PoE. (The Hikvision is already PoE).

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I've been using Milestone Xprotect essential for a few years now with 3 camera's.
(1) Hikvision DS-2CD2432F-IW
(2) DLink 942L

All 3 are setup and work fine, but the microphone is disabled. (Seems like it's almost a requirement based on all the forums I've read)

I need to enable the microphone. I also want to replace the Dlink camera's (the video quality is junk).

Anyone have a camera recommendation that will allow Milestone Xprotect essentials to use the Microphone as well? (Not married to anyone brand).

As you can see from my previous selections, I do like the small square camera's, but I can make anything work. Currently the two Dlink's are wireless, but I am equipped to pull in Cat 5e/6 and run PoE. (The Hikvision is already PoE).
Welcome mp

A lot of us like the Dahua OEM starlights for cameras which work well in low light conditions.
If you need a low light camera I would recommend checking out the notes and take a look at possible models which may work well for you.
( most of us are picking up the turret version either IPC-HDW5231xx or IPC-HDW42xx )
IPCamTalk WiKi | IP Cam Talk

mpking828

n3wb
Reaction score