Camera recommendations

cornholio

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to surveillance systems and I'm trying to setup IP cameras for my home. I've run PoE cat5 cables all over the home (6 locations including door and garage) and now I'm searching for cameras + nvr. Past posts suggest Hikvision and Dahua are best. Only Dahua seem to be available on amazon. I am considering installing XProtect/Blue Iris on a powerful PC. I'm also considering doorbell cam (which is in addition to the outdoor door camera).

I want to use this camera inside and outside IPC-HDBW5431R-Z | Dahua Technology

I also currently own 2 wifi IP cams (a Foscam and an Amcrest. Yes, I did. Sorry)

This for the door cam https://www.doorbird.com/downloads/datasheet_d101s_en.pdf over wifi.

This PC running XProtect or Blue Iris 24X7 Costco Wholesale. I may have to go with Blue Iris because I'm passing the free limit on XProtect.

My biggest concern right now is that this setup will take a while to configure all from scratch. I need this to be reliable and so I'm wondering if I should just go with an NVR instead. That perhaps 9 cameras is an overkill for a 1800sqft townhouse (5 on first, 2 each on second and third). I also wonder if Dahua IR will be ineffective outdoors because of the dome glass. Other concern is the impact of that PC on my power bill.

What do yo think?

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Don't use dome's outdoors, cause's too many issue's with the dome reflecting light, and the dome becoming foggy over time from UV.

Look for a factory refurbished Optiplex or HP Elite desktop with an I7-6700 skylake. They will come with 3 yr warranty.
Either Ebay or the factory websites sell these. You don't want a seperate video card in the machine.

You've done the hard part, pulling the wire. Blueiris and a pc I mentioned above really isn't complicated. Anything new to you has a learning curve.

My Optiplex is pulling roughly 25 watts recording 7 cams.