Camera recommendations

cwilson1996

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I'm new to the IP camera world. Id like to know what the best high quality outdoor cameras I can get for around $200 a camera. No NVR needed as I'll be using BI. Id really like the housing to be metal as I live in a very hard weather state. PTZ is not necessary. I'd prefer dome cameras. And quality during both day and night is important. I'd like to hear what you guys have to say.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Domes can be problematic, See recent threads below. If you prefer the smaller form factor, go with the turret model.

The best cameras right now is the 5442 series by Dahua and the Dahua OEM model sold by @EMPIRETECANDY here and on his Amazon Store. The are on the ideal MP/sensor ratio and and metal construction.

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

cwilson1996

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Domes can be problematic, See recent threads below. If you prefer the smaller form factor, go with the turret model.

The best cameras right now is the 5442 series by Dahua and the Dahua OEM model sold by @EMPIRETECANDY here and on his Amazon Store. The are on the ideal MP/sensor ratio and and metal construction.

What exactly makes it the best available dome camera? I recently purchased the Lorex LNE9292BW-4PK. But now I'm having doubts that these are good for the money.

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
The reason the 5442 series is so good is that it has a 1/1.8" sensor for a 4MP resolution.

Quick guide -

The smaller the lux number the better the low light performance. 0.002 is better than 0.02
The smaller the "F" of the lens the better the low light performance. F1.4 is better than F1.8
The larger the sensor the better the low light performance. 1/1.8" is better (bigger) than 1/2.7"