Camera System/NVR Setup Recommendations

conner05

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm new to this space and have been trying to do a lot of research to inform myself of the options for a camera system for my home. My wife and I moved into a new home about 2 years ago and now we're looking to get a camera system setup for in and outside of our home.

After talking with my wife these are our requirements:
MUST HAVES
  • two-way audio (not every camera location, but at least by doorway accesses)
  • person and vehicle detection
  • 24/7 recording
  • local storage
  • mobile alerts (outside of LAN as well)
  • easy to use mobile app
  • camera access outside of LAN (preferably VPN or some kind of port forwarding)

NICE TO HAVES
- at least 1-2 cameras w/ good enough quality to capture license plates driving ~20-30mph @ 40-80 yards

After doing some research, it appears there are no "out of the box" solutions that offer what we're looking for. I'm thinking of companies like SimpliSafe, Vivint, etc. We would be willing to pay for such a service, but I had no luck finding one.

For me, it kind of came down to three systems: Reolink, Unifi, or a custom Blue Iris + Deep Stack AI setup. Now, we are already about to install a Unifi Dream Machine Pro, 48 PoE Switch, and two WiFi Pro 6 APs (the Lites are all sold out) in our home, so we will have the PoE ports available for the number of cameras we're looking for. Also, I wanted a prosumer network at home, anyway.

In the end it came down to either Reolink or the custom BI setup. Now, we have a toddler and my wife stays at home. So, she is not thrilled about my spending an entire weekend setting up a BI camera setup. I told her it would likely take at least that long, but I also feel like we're not really going to get what we want unless go with the BI setup.

I spec'd out what I believe we would need. Please take a look and tell me what you think.

Locations (as viewed from street)
  • Front right