Can BI mimic IVS motion capture functionality?

nbstl68

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm looking at a couple of cameras...some have just basic motion detection. Others have IVS(Intelligent Video Surveillance) - Specifically Tripwire, Intrusion, Line Cross, Abandoned Object Detection, Missing Object Detection. There are others too out there like facial detection...not sure how that works?.

2 questions.
If I get a camera WITH IVS:
Can I use those those features on the camera with BI or do they only work with a mfg compatible NVR?

If I get a camera WITHOUT IVS:
Does BI have the ability to do\mimic IVS type detection?

I saw motion detection settings in BI that say things like "A -> B" and such but have no idea what that means or how to use it yet until I research further, but I found no specific reference to anything like the IVS functionality yet.

(I am new to BI, literally just installed the paid version this weekend but i have no cameras yet other than a cheap-o Foscam to play with. I started going through the BI options and a little bit of the help section, so I apologize if my answer is buried in the help guide and I just have not run across it yet.)

Thanks!

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Most of those detection features are useless, however, blue iris can accept onvif camera triggers.
Blue iris can also do multi zone crossing...see the help file that explains it all.

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I do not believe the IVS events are announced via ONVIF, so dont expect those features to work with BluIris.. I've been looking for a way to monitor those events pragmatically and been unsuccessful so far.

wcrowder

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hi,