Can Dahua do this?

Avareh

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I am asking this since I have no idea about what Dahua can (or not), and I am being something told which I hardly can digest hence need your help/advice.

At home I use a few camera's (all less familiar Chinese brands) with and without audio, with different resolutions, some are starlight, ... I use 2 different way of storing video's: I have an old desktop with a few 2 TB disks which are used to save continuously all video's of all my IP camera's. I use a generic and simple VMS which is configured to store video's for maximum length of 5 minutes, so daily I get about 24x12=288 small video's for each cam which I can watch in VLC or Windows Media Player. On another laptop I run Milestone which stores video's of all camera's only triggered by motion. All motion-triggered video's are stored (like on old desktop) for a period of one month on the SSD disk of my laptop.

The above setup I have been using for a few years without any problems!

Now I want to use a likewise setup somewhere else with a few differences: I want for indoor usage have 7 or 8 Dahua varifoclal starlight IP camera's (in combination with a POE switch) and continuously save all video footages to a network share or preferably a NAS device. In same network segment I wanna have a laptop which hosts Milestone for building up a database of video footages (of all camera's) only triggered by motion.

I have been told by someone that Dahua/Hikvision are not meant for such setup, both brands are not suitable for saving video's to network share or NAS and at the same time catch video's with Milestone. I really was lost when I heard that hence I am asking here those who use Dahua if this is true. I also wonder if anyone uses the setup I had in mind with Dahua IP camera's and Milestone!

Walrus

Getting comfortable
Reaction score