Can I start w just Dahua camera and SD card?

Reaction score
Ultimately I want to run blue iris and have a tower built to record 24/7 multiple cameras. That will take more time to get all ordered and setup.

I have immediate security concerns out front (crazy x) and want to get camera up ASAP and record Audio and video, either 24/7 or for at least 3 mins per motion activation. Can I get a WiFi outdoor Dahua camera with an SD card and record right to SD card and just configure the camera once I get it on my network either through a web browser on my network or an app?

seems like perhaps this is possible. I am a newbie and appreciate any advice. Thanks!

Reaction score
The Dahua cams that you would want permanently for BI will be POE IP cams. That cam will need to be initially plugged in to a PC to initialize it and set it up through a web browser. You could then mount it and power it either with a POE switch or a proper power supply. Recording 24/7 to an SD card will fill up the card fast. Make sure you get one of the newer ones that are rated for surveillance. It might be better to just record on motion or trip wire. Card will last longer. It would not be optimal to have to remove the SD card every time you want to see what happened. It would be better to have the cam plugged into a POE switch and that switch plugged into a PC so that you could access the SD card via a web browser.

Reaction score
Ok. The other issue is I need to go through brick and was hoping to use a WiFi camera and just drill through brick wall for power to be plugged into the wall in my bedroom. Getting a cat6 all the way down to my basement and my router there would be tough. I do have cat5 in the wall from bedroom to the basement tho. I know how to terminate Cables and maybe I could tack onto that wire run?

I guess im looking for a quicker solution
That ultimately can be added to the system I want to build.