Can you password protect blueiris for close down

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by Gibs, Jan 2, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. Gibs

    Gibs n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Hey guys I've read a bunch of stuff on here and used IP cameras for awhile but new to blue iris.

    I've built a server using a core i7 8700, 16 gb of ram, 120gb ssd and two seagate surveillance drives for a total of 10 TB. This system will be running 24 2 megapixel cameras. So i had no problem getting all my cameras up and recording only motion, I used windows to create a spanned drive across the 2 drives and it's working great.

    What I want is to keep blue iris open on the monitor 24/7. If someone wants to close it I want them to be have to enter a password. I am using the service so even if the app closes it's still recording but the option I want is almost always a standard in every other camera software so I assume blue iris has this ability?

    Also I want to make sure that no one can delete video I've hidden the folder blue iris records to so unless someone is savvy enough they can't just delete the folder.

    This PC will be in a managers office so all managers will have access which is why i'm trying to lock it down but the manager has to be able to see the video so they can keep a eye on things while doing work in office.

    thanks in advance for any help
     
  2. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,727
    Likes Received:
    960
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    Nice system

    Do not span across two drives. Use two drives independently , assigh 1/2 cameras to one drive and 1/2 cameras to other drive. So in the event one drive failes you still have 50% of your cameras recording.

    Do not know about password lock.
    I would suggest that you lock down the BI machine. So no one will mess with it. Set up a PC running a web browser with UI3.

    I am paranoid. I have an SD card in each camera to record continuous. I also have a NAS setup away from the BI machine, I use BI clone cameras to write to the NAS.
     
  3. Gibs

    Gibs n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Thanks for the info. I'm using spanned so my recording will still work on all cameras I just lose whatever is on the drive and the amount of time to be recorded. Spanned just makes a simple JBOD raid not striped. If one drive goes down it does not lose the dynamic disk. Striped would no longer work if one drive went down.
     
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,579
    Likes Received:
    9,590
    yes but it does not guarantee that at lease some of the latest recordings are on the working drive.
     
  5. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,579
    Likes Received:
    9,590
    No you cannot do this. If someone wants to close the pc, they can unplug the power and your password is meaningless.
    you can remove the keyboard and mouse if you wish and disable usb ports if your bios allows.
    What you can also do is set blue iris to require a password when its maximized from the tray, and then use the webserver with only live view permissions in chrome.
     
  6. th182

    th182 BIT Beta Team

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I use the hide-the-wireless-keyboard method. And my Blue Iris box is in a locked network cabinet with a UPS. It's not as critical for me since I am just a home user so I actually rarely hide the keyboard, but that's my security method when needed. I can see how in a business setting it would be nice to be able to password protect, but then someone could just shut it down.
     
  7. dahukvision

    dahukvision n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    9
    Instead of hiding the folder, you could sign in as a different user who is not an administrator and does not have write or delete permissions to that folder.

    Ideally they would open BI via the web interface as a non-administrative user as well.

    You could set up the PC with kiosking software which would relaunch the web browser every time it was closed.

    Not having write permissions to the video drive is valuable because an attacker could fill some other folder on the drive with garbage, and when BI ran out of space and deleted old files to write new ones, the attacker would fill that space as well. Eventually the video drive would be full of garbage and no video could be written, but the attacker never touched the BI software or the video folder at all.
     
  8. Gibs

    Gibs n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Thank you all for your replies. dahukvision I'm going to try your method and then if that doesn't work well enough I am going to setup some sort of remote view through a webpage and connected to a monitor.
     
  9. Gibs

    Gibs n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    This option worked great I used windows 10 and set up a user as a kiosk with automatic login with access to windows edge only going to the specified web page. I tried for about 30 minutes using minimal tools to get around it and while I know it's not full proof it was difficult enough that it will work and without a password to a regular user account or was unable to delete any key files or mess with the system to much. The most I was able to do was crash windows edge but because of the kiosk feature a logout threw the sandbox away and it started back exactly as it should up on relogin.

    Thank you!!!!
     
  10. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,562
    Likes Received:
    5,574
    Edge is currently the worst browser you could use for UI3. I strongly encourage finding an alternative such as Chrome, Opera, Brave, or anything else based on Chromium. Firefox probably comes to mind but it has its own issues with UI3 which make it barely better than Edge.
     
  11. Gibs

    Gibs n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I agree however for the integrated windows kiosk account in windows 10 its the easiest and only option right now. it's running stable and can do what I need anyone who actually needs to see video it works. I'm looking into making it chrome but not holding my breath at this point. I will say for my needs of viewing live video and maybe just making it longer or going back to look at clips it works just fine. If I have a issue the quality of the stream looks way worse in live but viewing clips looks much better.
     
  12. Gibs

    Gibs n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    BTW edge will be chromium based soon.....its microsoft soon means 10 years right? NM
     
  13. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,562
    Likes Received:
    5,574
    You probably just need to increase the group frame size to make live view look good. You can also increase its frame rate if desired.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,562
    Likes Received:
    5,574
    Yeah, I'm aware of that. The way I see it, it will massively help Edge stay compatible with stuff. But at the same time it will likely be putting MS browser developers into the Chromium project and that thought scares me. I recently had to disable H.264 streaming in Edge because the browser is leaving streaming connections open for the life of the browser tab, which means changing cameras would leak resources!!
     
  15. Gibs

    Gibs n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX

    In edge it tells you this browser doesn't support this. My highest frame rate is JPEGHD which I think is 720....doesn't look horrible but I have some nice cameras and looking at in actual Blue iris compared to the stream it looks really bad lol. Again it's my only complaint of using edge as the stream source right now, for what I'm attempting to accomplish.
     
  16. Gibs

    Gibs n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I'm streaming just ui3 anything else I do on here I will logout and use my account and chrome or the actual UI to make changes save video. The main reason or purpose of my doing the kiosk function is to keep my average user for maliciously or more likely accidentally deleting or harming the system.