Case about connecting 8 IP Cams thru a POE Switch

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I have an installation case that i need to solve,

1. i need to install 8 IP Camera
2. We need to have two NVR on a separate room
3. first NVR will only show channel 1-4 and the second NVR will only show 1-8

my question is,

I want to use this scenario by using a separate POE switch that send the data to two NVR's. So all cameras will go into the switch (port 1-8) and port 9 will go to the first NVR and port 10 will go to the second NVR. The NVR that i want to use is HIKVISION NVR DS-7604NI-E1 that only has 1 LAN port.

I am kinda new in this IP CCTV. would that solution work ? I know i cant have only just 1 NVR because i need to separate the channel into 2 monitors.

Warm Regards,

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
should work just fine as long as the NVR's are on GigE ports.

Fastb

Known around here
Reaction score
Chrisimmanuel,

Welcome to the forum!

Is sounds like an objective of the system is that you have two monitors. One monitor for cams 1 to 4, the other monitor for cams 1-8.

I think there may be other solutions besides setting up two NVRs.

1) The NVR will support multiple users logging in and viewing live video. On a PC, surf in to the NVR user interface, and view live video. Select a 2x2 view mode, to display 4 cameras. On another PC, surf in, select a 3x3 view mode, and display cam 1 to 8.

2) Use Smart PSS on two PCs. one displays cam 1-4, the other displays 1-8

3) Connect a monitor to the NVR directly. Display cams 1-8. Use a PC to display cam 1-4 (either with browser of Smart PSS)

I have an old clamshell PC in my kitchen, and I use Smart PSS to view cams. It's convenient to see when people approach the house. And I have an old PC monitor connected directly to my NVR. And I use a laptop over WiFi to to browse into my NVR, when needed.

I am kinda new in this IP CCTV.