Clean Install of Win10 and HDD Partitions - need advice

beardog

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Just booted up the brand new Optiplex 9020 SFF.
About to upgrade to Win10 and then install my WD purple 3TB which I will be running Blue Iris and recording feeds.

Can someone clarify if:

1.) I need to create any special partitions if I plan to use the WD Purple for the a.)Windows OS, b.)Blue Iris c.) video feeds?

2.) Are there any settings in Windows10 or BI I should know about that will optimize the setup above? (I have zero experience
with Win10 and BI)

3.) Fenderman mentioned a Shell Program on a different thread. Can someone explain?

Thanks!

Larebear

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I have recommended to all of my clients to not upgrade to Windows 10, at least not for now. Maybe in a year or so after all the bugs are worked out. Most are happy with staying with Windows 7.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
No need for any partitions...but do a CLEAN install not an in place upgrade. The new microsoft media creation tool will allow you to install windows 10 using the 7 key...or do an in place upgrade, confirm its activated, then do a clean install using the media creation tool (no key needed)..
Make sure to exlude blue iris from any antivirus (or windows defender)...
Not sure what you mean by a shell program..
For the record windows 10 is just fine...you will be forced to upgrade in 6 months before the free option runs out (unless MS changes that)...staying with 7 is an option though but security updates will end in 2020, I dont see any problems with 10 and use 10 on all new pc's.

Q™

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-10/upgrade-to-windows-10-faq
according to MS, it expires on [FONT=WOL_Reg]July 29, 2016[/FONT]
The free upgrade is a full version of Windows (not a trial or introductory version) and is available until July 29, 2016. Once you upgrade, you’ll have Windows 10 for free on that device.