Combining two blue iris feeds

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by mamunami, Jul 23, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. mamunami

    mamunami n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NYC
    Sorry about the incredibly noob question guys. I saw some posts on fort forwarding and managing cameras that are two different WANs

    For the local cameras I have them mapped as:

    192:169.1.101:81

    For a camera that is at my work I want to map it as:

    Domain.ddns.net:81

    But how can I specify each camera on that work blueiris network that is set up with its own local LAN address.

    I understand the solution is port forwarding but would someone please show me where I give it individual ports that I can forward.

    I'm using digimerge DND13TL2. Thank you all in advance.
     
  2. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,418
    Likes Received:
    5,370
    You don't set up port forwarding rules in the camera. That is done in the router. There are a lot of reasons this might be a bad idea though.

    1) It is just asking for your stuff to get hacked, exposing it through port forwarding. It happens all the time. It isn't so bad if your router supports port forwarding rules that only work for specific source addresses and you use that to restrict access to only the address that is supposed to be pulling streams. But most routers do not support this.
    2) Streaming video to Blue Iris is extremely bandwidth-heavy and chances are your internet providers won't like seeing that much constant usage unless you bought dedicated bandwidth for an arm and a leg. You are looking at hundreds of gigabytes per camera per month. Could be even 1-3 terabytes per camera per month if they are high bit rate.
     
    fenderman likes this.
  3. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,481
    Likes Received:
    3,196
    Location:
    Alabama
  4. mamunami

    mamunami n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NYC
    TonyR likes this.
  5. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,481
    Likes Received:
    3,196
    Location:
    Alabama
    You're welcome...share with us your progress (failures and successes!), if you care to. Speaking for myself, I can only read so much, have to get my hands on it...I learn best by doing.
     
  6. Zanthexter

    Zanthexter Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    26
    To connect one BI to another BI I've used the following in video set up:

    Make: Generic
    Model: Raw H.264
    Path: /h264/XXX/temp.h264 <- replace XXX with the short camera name you chose under General

    I haven't looked into getting PTZ/IR etc working or audio.

    It's a handy way to keep an off site lower quality backup. It's also been useful to feed remote locations into a single BI system for showing all locations in a unified view on a big screen TV and the mobile app. Owner can just select the location from the camera list instead of having to login/logout all the time.

    If there's a better way to do it, please reply :)

    Also, if it's not obvious, I'm leaving out all the discussion about port forwarding and VPNs and all that. If you can reach your BI system remotely, your already set up to feed the individual "cameras" into another system.
     
  7. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,481
    Likes Received:
    3,196
    Location:
    Alabama
    For the record, that's the exact URL and syntax in the included link that I posted July 23 in post #3 above. It was from April 18 and entitled "Show cam stream from a Remote BI server on a Local BI server".
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2018
    fenderman likes this.
  8. Zanthexter

    Zanthexter Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    26
    For the record and proper recognition of your efforts it's also worth noting that should someone follow the link, it's a much better and more thorough explanation than my brief answer. With included screenshots.

    I'll like your post as well, it was nicely done.
     
    TonyR likes this.
  9. Jeff Fisher

    Jeff Fisher n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm getting a 400 Bad Request when adding cameras like this. I tried the URL in my browser and it does start a download.
     
  10. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,481
    Likes Received:
    3,196
    Location:
    Alabama
    It's a stream, a browser won't play it. Blue Iris will if you set it up as mentioned in link in post #7 above.

    How about posting a screenshot of your failing cam config in Blue Iris? You likely have bad syntax or path in the URL.
     
  11. Jeff Fisher

    Jeff Fisher n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I realize it won't play it but it does start a download for it (just to prove the URL is correct).

    I'll get a screenshot and post it.
     
  12. Jeff Fisher

    Jeff Fisher n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here's a screenshot -- I just changed the host for privacy reasons but the host was correct and the username/password is correct as well.
     

    Attached Files:

    • bi.png
      bi.png
      File size:
      507.5 KB
      Views:
      7
  13. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,481
    Likes Received:
    3,196
    Location:
    Alabama
    HTTPS vs. HTTP ?
    Also, no port after hostname?
    And that cam short name is the correct cam short name of the REMOTE cam?
     
  14. Jeff Fisher

    Jeff Fisher n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    The site is HTTPS and runs on the standard port (so it defaults to 443).
     
  15. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,481
    Likes Received:
    3,196
    Location:
    Alabama
    And that cam short name is the correct cam short name of the REMOTE cam?
     
  16. Jeff Fisher

    Jeff Fisher n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Correct -- as I mentioned I tested the URL in Chrome and it started a download (continuous) for it which was the stream itself downloading. I'm going to check something because it goes through an Apache reverse proxy, maybe Chrome is not doing something that BI is and that's why it works there.
     
  17. Jeff Fisher

    Jeff Fisher n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think it's because BI doesn't support SNI.
     
  18. Jeff Fisher

    Jeff Fisher n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yup, that's the issue here -- BI doesn't support SNI which is a shame. I'll contact their support.
     
    TonyR likes this.