Complete newb with a cheap NVR

Reaction score
Alright, so I'm no a complete newb to NVRs but.. I just purchased a new cheap NVR unit that came with 4 wireless IP cameras. The GUI seems decent, but restricted. Is this unit limited to just 4 channels only? Seems like you should be able to add additional channels. Is it because itll only support 4 wireless devices?

Either way the app is kinda shady and registration for an account is impossible it seems. The local LAN browser interface is incompatible.

I'm trying to determine if there is an easy way to flash the firmware with an open source NVR firmware? Or is that even a thing? Any input would be awesome!

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Alright, so I'm no a complete newb to NVRs but.. I just purchased a new cheap NVR unit that came with 4 wireless IP cameras. The GUI seems decent, but restricted. Is this unit limited to just 4 channels only? Seems like you should be able to add additional channels. Is it because itll only support 4 wireless devices?

Either way the app is kinda shady and registration for an account is impossible it seems. The local LAN browser interface is incompatible.

I'm trying to determine if there is an easy way to flash the firmware with an open source NVR firmware? Or is that even a thing? Any input would be awesome!
you dont provide the model...
Any nvr that comes with 4 wireless cameras is crap. You cannot flash other firmware to it. Return this crap and start over. Begin with the cliff notes.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score

Welcome @Mattattakks

fenderman gives good advice on this. WiFi cameras in general have numerous issues which result in a less than reliable and robust setup. If you can, look to setup a wired IP PoE setup.

Numerous cheap wifi kits are really bad ways to spend money imho.

If you're on a tight budget look to see if you have a PC you can repurpose to be a "NVR" + buy a affordable POE switch.