Could I end up with "too many" cameras? Consequences?

ipmania

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Just a beginner here with a naive question: could I draw unwanted attention simply by having too many cameras visible on my home?

I currently have zero cameras. But as mentioned in another thread, there's a good chance I could get caught up in all this and have a variety of them mounted on my house.

What could my neighbors think of this? Some things that come to mind: What's he hiding or worried about? Is he doing something illegal? (e.g. running a grow-op). Is he spying on his neighbors?

What could random bad guys think? e.g. is there something very valuable in his house? Maybe they'll start plotting...

Background: I live in a middle-class suburb that is a regular neighborhood with many houses on the street (i.e., I don't live on acreage or out in the country). People will notice that suddenly I have cameras.

I will say that people DO have cameras in my area. Maybe a single consumer-grade camera above their main door perhaps. Maybe a 2nd one also in view.

But knowing my own tendencies, I will likely get carried away and at some point, there'll be cameras everywhere on my house and property.

Boethius

n3wb
Reaction score
My next door neighbor didn't understand the paranoia behind the cameras. and thusly we dont have ANY lenses on his yard or house, plus his family gathering outdoor picnic area is close to our lot line. see picture. But house mate has lived in crime ridden areas with the full array of crimes of the ghetto, and wanted them. But I told her it wasn't that kind of neighborhood.(yet)
But i do want to see who is parking on the street between my house and the apartments because sometimes people sit out there and smoke weed. and when that happens, the statistical probability of stupid bullshit is elevated.

View attachment 156673