CPU 3.5%?

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by Whoaru99, Jan 24, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. Whoaru99

    Whoaru99 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2018
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Here
    Went through the basic reduce BI CPU tips and looks like it's running about 3.5% on an i7-3770 with 8GB RAM.

    Presently, two 4MP cams and one 2MP cam running 10FPS.

    Sound about right?
     
    Mike likes this.
  2. skywaytp

    skywaytp Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    US Armed Forces
    Hi Whoaru99,
    I believe it absolutely sounds right.
    I have 12-4MP cams running 15FPS and the amount of CPU consumed is 17-18% on an i7-8700K.
     
  3. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,546
    Likes Received:
    5,552
    Those are pretty impressive numbers for an i7-3770 if "Limit decoding" is not being used.
     
    Mike likes this.
  4. Whoaru99

    Whoaru99 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2018
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Here
    I will check the limit decoding setting.
     
  5. Parley

    Parley Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    968
    Likes Received:
    455
    Location:
    Cypress, California
    Yes, I do believe you.

    My IVMS-4200 varies between 1% and 5% with mostly 2-3%. That is with 15 cameras hooked up to my 2 NVR's. I am running an Intel NUC8I5BEH1 with 8 GB of RAM and a 2.3 GHz Intel Core i5-8259U Quad-Core processor. The drive is a Samsung 250GB 970 EVO NVMe M.2 Internal SSD.
     
  6. Whoaru99

    Whoaru99 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2018
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Here
    Limit Decoding is not checked on any of the cameras, and I'll check again the % next time I'm at the physical location.

    Presently I'm administering remotely using TeamViewer and have BI interface open in addition to running as a service so the CPU usage shows higher; 10%, give or take, at any given moment. Some spikes higher, of course, if I open other things on the remote computer.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2019