Dahua Captures mailbox break-in

n8huntsman

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Any video experts wanna take a crack at clearing up this footage to make out license plate?

Mike

Staff member
Reaction score
Any video experts wanna take a crack at clearing up this footage to make out license plate?
I can't help and don't mean to hijack, but it looks like that house that blew up is completely rebuilt. Glad to see.

n8huntsman

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Yep. All rebuild and good to go. Terrible to say but all the neighbors are a bit jealous now. Brand new everything.
As far as this video goes... I've tried After Effects and Premiere but Im a novice at best so it wasn't much help. I feel like there is enough there for software of some sort to get a clear image. Just not sure what im doing.

pozzello

Known around here
Reaction score
that's CSI TV stuff. there's a couple frames early on that have the plate a bit clearer.
to my eyes, looks like 4FZV321. California, right? Dark 4-door Nissan Versa?

crc2004

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Did the thief have a key or did he pry it open?

pozzello

Known around here
Reaction score
looks like he used some sort of tool you cram into the keyhole and forces the lock open.
you see him leaning into it when he jams it in...

crc2004

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I've had 4 attempts I caught on camera and 3 of them the car had no plates, all 4 times the box was empty so the didn't get anything. I finally swapped the box out for a locking box and have had one attempt. They saw it was locked and tried to reach their hand inside but came up empty and proceeded to the neighbors box.

They need to increase the penalty for driving without plates.

tangent

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I've tried After Effects and Premiere but Im a novice at best so it wasn't much help. I feel like there is enough there for software of some sort to get a clear image. Just not sure what im doing.