Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-Z to produce JPG snapshots

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by Steve Bouton, Dec 5, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. Steve Bouton

    Steve Bouton n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hampstead, NC (28443)
    Hello. Today we got our Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-Z installed and viewing what will hopefully be a nest for great horned owls. I'm just getting into this and I'm trying to understand how to manipulate the camera. I'm using Internet Explorer to do this.

    Is there a way to produce snapshots in JPG format instead of BMP?

    Thanks!
     
    mat200 likes this.
  2. Roman G

    Roman G n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do you have them in BMP?
    I have just made a snapshot (from SmartPSS) and it was JPEG.
     
  3. Steve Bouton

    Steve Bouton n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hampstead, NC (28443)
    I downloaded SmartPSS from the Dahua site and installed it. It takes some time to learn to use it much. You are correct, it does give you JPG snapshots, but now I get .DAV videos instead of .MP4. Is there a way to get both .JPG snapshots and .MP4 videos?

    Also, in SmartPSS is there a way to handle settings such as sensitivity to movement?
     
  4. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    5,728
    Likes Received:
    2,355
    If you use Blue Iris software, it can produce jpeg snapshots and mp4 videos. It isn't free though and it definitely comes with its own learning curve.
     
  5. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    5,728
    Likes Received:
    2,355
    You can also pull a jpeg directly off the camera with the URL: /cgi-bin/snapshot.cgi

    e.g.

    Code:
    http://127.0.0.1/cgi-bin/snapshot.cgi
    It requires http authentication which a web browser will prompt you for if you enter that URL into the address bar. This is not very convenient if you just want to download a snapshot to your hard drive though.
     
  6. 0blar

    0blar Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. TechBill

    TechBill Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    218

    Playback - Snippet - Export to mp4

    Bill
     
  8. Roman G

    Roman G n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes it gives you ability to hadle a bunch of camera settings. As for motion detection sensitivity:
    Device Cfg > Chose IP adress of the IPC > Event > Video Detect > Zone > (Press "Set")
     
    Steve Bouton likes this.
  9. Roman G

    Roman G n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Please, for this purpose, download "tool box" from http://www1.dahuasecurity.com/tools.html and than install "Convert Tool". That will help you!
     
  10. Steve Bouton

    Steve Bouton n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hampstead, NC (28443)
    I appreciate the suggestions and tips I've gotten through this forum. Now I can produce .MP4 videos and .JPG still images, but I ended up using the firmware within the camera by browsing to it and logging in. SmartPSS seems to want a server of some type, but I want to store the video on the SD chip in the camera.

    It also seems the SmartPSS Toolbox has lots of neat features, but some of this software doesn't accept DYNDNS addresses which I need since the camera is not part of my LAN.

    I see the term "fluency" associated with Live View. Is "fluency" the quality of smoothness between frames being viewed or is it something else?

    When I go into Event → Video Detection → Motion Detection → Area → Setting I get to select an area for which I want to detect motion. On the right side I can select "Sensitivity" and "Threshold". I assumed I can set the area, sensitivity and threshold for 4 different regions, but it doesn't seem to work like that since the area doesn't change. Where can I read about how it does work?

    Thanks again for all your help.
     
  11. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    5,728
    Likes Received:
    2,355
    I think "fluency" is basically a video delay control. The thing is, with very low video delay, any network performance problems can cause the stream to stutter and maybe drop frames, causing temporary corruption (which doesn't affect recordings, only your streaming to the player).
     
  12. TVT73

    TVT73 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Germany
    What do you want to do with it? If you need a picture every minute, you should better use ftp upload.

    Dyndns means, you opened the camera web access by port forwarding. This is a bad and unsecure idea. You should better use a vpn connection to the cam, or you activate p2p to use it by smartpss. It´s not so secure like vpn, but better than port forwarding.
    Using p2p (on cam webinterface goto setup / Network / tcp/ip -> easy4ip) you can open with smartpss the hole website of the cam (without video) for setting up everything what is not possible from smartpss.

    Do you know dahuawiki ? It´s sometimes helpful.
     
    Roman G likes this.
  13. Steve Bouton

    Steve Bouton n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hampstead, NC (28443)
    I am aware of the security issues with port forwarding, but they are at a lower priority at the moment.
    The objective is to record videos and stills of owls in a nest. We've had owls nest and raise chicks in the area the past few years. I have the basics intact, but it's recording an almost a constant stream. The ability to set the sensitivity and threshold on the matrix have me totally confused. I'm using Internet Explorer to access the camera. Event → Video Detection → Motion Detection → Area → Setting. I've tried a number of ways to set different regions to the appropriate sensitivity. For example, the nest is on a post that has waves and some moving foliage around it. I want to set the sensitivity low for those area but the nest itself to be highly sensitive. I can't seem to get it to work right. Hopefully someone more experienced or someone from Dahua will be able to explain (document) the use of this software.

    Thank you.
     
  14. Steve Bouton

    Steve Bouton n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hampstead, NC (28443)
    This is our Great Horned Owl project. All we need now is a pair of owls. Thanks to all for your help.

    owl_cam_mounted.jpg
    Looking over a man-made owl nest hoping for the best.

    zoom_out.jpg
    Situated on the Intracoastal Waterway in southeastern, NC

    zoom_in.jpg
    In tight for when there are residents in the nest.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  15. ewc1111

    ewc1111 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Germany
    You may also try IVS. Draw a rule on the nest and try it. I think the function intrusion would be best here.
    and set the target min and max size. set the action to enter & exit. Here you can find a older Wiki from Dahua: IVS:Intrusion Detect - Dahua Wiki
    Edit: you must first enable the smartplan. see screenshot 3 and disable Motion Detection.
    ivs.JPG
    ivs2.JPG
    smartplan.JPG
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2017 at 12:07 PM